close this bookVolume 4: No. 19
View the documentBusiness news
View the documentInternet services
View the documentAI news and resources
View the documentSoftware patents
View the documentPrivacy and security
View the documentJob opportunities
View the documentDiscussion groups
View the documentJournals and e-journals
View the documentInternet guides
View the documentProfessional writing
View the documentComputists' news

Graduate Student List (GSL) is a new "supportive environment" for graduate students and educational policy. Contact Scott Kerlin (skerlin@seaccd.ctc.edu) or Carl Reimann (reimann@access.digex.net). [AERA, 4/23/94. net-hap.]

STUMPERS-L is a high-traffic list for difficult library reference questions. Send a "subscribe stumpers-l " message to mailserv@crf.cuis.edu. [Sperry Olsen (sperryo@nando.net), CARR-L, 4/20/94.]

New Usenet newsgroups this month include misc.creativity, sci.psychology.research, and comp.software.international (e.g., non-English fonts). [4/30/94.]

A list of e-lists for language learning is available from David Bedell (bedell@cse.bridgeport.edu). A list of Spanish-language lists is also available: send an "index" message to listasrcp@rcp.net.pe, or contact Yuri Herrera Burstein (odi@rcp.net.pe). [Carolyn Kotlas (carolynk.iat@mhs.unc.edu), INFOBITS, 4/29/94.]

North Texas Assoc. for AI (NTAAI) hosts meetings at UTexas Arlington and tries to help members in other ways. Contact Dr. Lynn Peterson (peterson@cse.uta.edu), (817) 372-3609. [Steve Rainwater (rsr@ncc.com), comp.ai, 5/3/94. David Joslin.]

A Fuzzy Systems research group was founded 10/93 within the AI division of the German Society of Computer Science (GI). For information, contact Dr. Rainer Palm (palm @smaragd.zfe.siemens.de). [Detlef Nauck (nauck@ibr.cs.tu-bs.de), comp.ai, 4/27/94. David Joslin.]

IEEE MultiMedia combines print, online discussion, and [soon] multimedia CD ROMs. Readers, identified only by a personal number, are invited to publicly discuss the peer-reviewed articles. Telnet to fullerton.edu and log in as IEEE with password FORUM. [Lloyd Davidson (ldavids@casbah.acns.nwu.edu), PACS-L, 4/28/94.] (Interesting experiment. I suspect that people read few of the journals they subscribe to. Will public discussion motivate them to keep up? Even anonymous discussion?)