Cover Image
close this bookStrategies and Methods for Teaching Values in the Context of Science and Technology (APEID - UNESCO, 1993, 61 p.)
View the document(introduction...)
View the documentIntroduction
View the documentChapter One: Synthesis of Country Papers: 'Trends and Issues'
View the documentChapter Two: Concept Identification and Formation of Values Through Teaching of Science
View the documentChapter Three: Approaches for Facilitating Values Formation
View the documentChapter Four: Evaluation of Values
View the documentChapter Five: Recommendations
close this folderAnnex
View the documentAnnex I: List of Participants
View the documentBack cover

Back cover

The Asia and Pacific Programme of Educational Innovation for Development (APEID) has as its primary goal to contribute to the building of national capabilities for undertaking educational innovations linked to the problems of national development, thereby improving the quality of the people in the Member States.

All projects and activities within the framework of APEID are designed, developed and implemented co-operatively by the participating Member States through nearly 200 national centres which they have associated for this purpose with APEID.

The 29 Member States participating in APEID are Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Korea, the Russian Federation, Samoa, Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Tonga and Turkey.

Each country has set up a National Development Group (NDG) to identify and support educational innovations for development within the country and facilitate exchange between countries.

The Asia and Pacific Centre of Educational Innovation for Development (ACEID), an integral part of the UNESCO Principal Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific in Bangkok, co-ordinates the activities under APEID and assists the Associated Centres (AC) in carrying them out.

In the fifth cycle of APEID (1992-1996), three major programme areas have been selected by the Member States at the Twelfth Regional Consultation Meeting on APEID (August 1990) for the purpose of concentration. These are:

1. Primary education

2. Reorientation and qualitative improvement of secondary education (including general education and technical/vocational education)

3. Science and technology education (including Science for All, mathematics and information processing).