Cover Image
close this bookThe Courier N 121 March-april 1990- Dossier Refugees - Country Reports: Botswana - Zambia (EC Courier, 1990, 104 p.)
close this folderACP - Regional cooperation
View the documentSADCC at a turning point
View the documentSADCC - its organisation and its work

SADCC - its organisation and its work

SADCC, the Southern African Development Coordination Conference, is a regional organisation now comprising nine Member States- Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe. A tenth country, Namibia, is expected to join after its independence in April 1990. The organisation was formed in April 1980 in Lusaka, Zambia.

Coordinating responsibilities for projects and programmes are assigned to individual Member States by sector, and are as follows.

Allocation of sector coordination to SADCC Member States

The SADCC Secretariat is based in Gaborone, Botswana, and its present Executive Secretary is the Zimbabwean, Dr Simba Makoni.

The present status of SADCC project financing by sector is as follows:

SADCC project financing status by sector - (Amounts in million $)