Cover Image
close this bookBridge Builders: African Experiences with Information & Communication (BOSTID, 1996, 304 p.)
View the document(introduction...)
View the documentPanel on planning for scientific and technological information (STI) SYSTEMS IN SUB-Saharan Africa
View the documentPreface
View the documentIntroduction
Open this folder and view contentsCase studies on the introduction of cd-rom to university libraries
Open this folder and view contentsCase studies on desktop publishing
Open this folder and view contentsCase studies on electronic networking
Open this folder and view contentsCase studies on the collection, management, and dissemination of local information resources
View the documentConclusion
Open this folder and view contentsAppendixes
Expanding the text here will generate a large amount of data for your browser to display

Panel on planning for scientific and technological information (STI) SYSTEMS IN SUB-Saharan Africa

DR. JOHN BLACK, Chief Librarian (retired), University of Guelph, Guelph, Ontario, Canada
JANE BORTNICK GRIFFITH, Chief, Science Policy Research Division, Congressional Research Service, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.

DR. GBADE A. ALABI, Department of Library, Archival, and Information Studies, Faculty of Education, University of Ibadan, Ibadan, Nigeria
STEVE CISLER, Senior Scientist, Apple Computer, Inc., Cupertino, California
DR. NANCY HAFKIN, Head, Pan African Development Information Systems (PADIS), United Nations/Economic Commission for Africa, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
DR. HEATHER HUDSON, Director, Telecommunications Program, University of San Francisco, McLaren College of Business, San Francisco, California
DR. BERNARD LOWN (IOM), Lown Cardiovascular Center, Brookline, Massachusetts
THEOPHILUS E. MLAKI, Director of Information and Documentation, Tanzania Commission for Science and Technology, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
DR. ALEX TINDIMUBONA, African Science and Technology Exchange, Kampala, Uganda Staff
WENDY D. WHITE, Senior Progam Officer, Office of International Affairs
PAMELA GAMBLE, Assistant, Office of International Affairs

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit, self-perpetuating society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare. Upon the authority of the charter granted to it by the Congress in 1863, the Academy has a mandate that requires it to advise the federal government on scientific and technical matters. Dr. Bruce M. Alberts is president of the National Academy of Sciences.

The National Academy of Engineering was established in 1964, under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences, as a parallel organization of outstanding engineers. It is autonomous in its administration and in the selection of its members, sharing with the National Academy of Sciences the responsibility for advising the federal government. The National Academy of Engineering also sponsors engineering programs aimed at meeting national needs, encourages education and research, and recognizes the superior achievements of engineers. Dr. Harold Liebowitz is president of the National Academy of Engineering.

The Institute of Medicine was established in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences to secure the services of eminent members of appropriate professions in the examination of policy matters pertaining to the health of the public. The Institute acts under the responsibility given to the National Academy of Sciences by its congressional charter to be an adviser to the federal government and, upon its own initiative, to identify issues of medical care, research, and education. Dr. Kenneth I. Shine is president of the Institute of Medicine.

The National Research Council was organized by the National Academy of Sciences in 1916 to associate the broad community of science and technology with the Academy's purposes of furthering knowledge and advising the federal government. Functioning in accordance with general policies determined by the Academy, the Council has become the principal operating agency of both the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering in providing services to the government, the public, and the scientific and engineering communities. The Council is administered jointly by both Academies and the Institute of Medicine. Dr. Bruce M. Alberts and Dr. Harold Liebowitz are chairman and vice chairman, respectively, of the National Research Council.

The Office of International Affairs (OIA) is concerned with the development of international and national policies to promote effective application of science and technology to economic and social problems facing both industrialized and developing countries. OIA participates in international cooperative activities, engages in joint studies and projects with counterpart organizations, manages scientific exchange programs, and represents the Academy complex at many national and international meetings directed toward facilitating international cooperation in science and engineering. Dr. F. Sherwood Rowland, Dr. Harold Forsen, and Dr. David Rall are the foreign secretaries of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, and the Institute of Medicine, respectively.