Cover Image
close this bookEnergy as a Tool for Sustainable Development for African, Caribbean and Pacific Countries (EC - UNDP, 1999, 89 p.)
View the document(introduction...)
View the documentAcknowledgements
View the documentNotes on Authors
View the documentForeword
View the documentAbbreviations
View the documentExecutive Summary
Open this folder and view contentsCHAPTER 1: ENERGY AND SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT
Open this folder and view contentsCHAPTER 2: THE SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA REGION
Open this folder and view contentsCHAPTER 3: SMALL ISLAND DEVELOPING STATES
Open this folder and view contentsANNEX I: RELEVANT ACTIVITIES OF DEVELOPMENT COOPERATION INSTITUTIONS
View the documentANNEX II: CONTACT DETAILS OF PERSONS INVOLVED IN THE PREPARATION OF THIS REPORT
View the documentREFERENCES
View the documentAbout...

ANNEX II: CONTACT DETAILS OF PERSONS INVOLVED IN THE PREPARATION OF THIS REPORT

Table II.1 Authors of the Report

Author

Position/Institution

Tel/Fax/Email

Principal Input

Bengaly, Salifou

AFRITEC
Boulevard Nelson Mandela,
Porte 1351
B.P.E 2502
Bamako, Mali

Tel: +223 21 00 53
Fax: +223 21 00 53

Mali Country Study

Bertarelli, Lara

Energy Research Scientist
IT Power Limited, Hampshire, United Kingdom, RG27 0PR

Tel: +44 118 973 0073
Fax: +44 118 973 0820
lb@itpower.co.uk

Chapter 3

Boyce, John

Director,
Ecoenergy Caribbean
194 Atlantic Shores,
Christ Church
Barbados

Tel: +246 228 2337
Mobile: +246 220 2494
Fax: +246 420 84 61
jdeboyce@caribsurf.com

Barbados
Country Study

Brew Hammond, Abeeku

Acting Director of Kumasi Institute of Technology and Environment (KITE), Kumasi, Ghana

Tel: +233 5160231
Fax: +233 516032/26026
Kite@ghana.com

Ghana Country Study

Cornland, Deborah

Director of the Energy and Global Change Programmes, Stockholm Environment Institute, Sweden

Tel: +46 8 412 1400
Fax: +46 8 723 0348
Deborah.cornland@sei.se
http://www.sei.se/

Chapter 2

Derrick, Anthony

Director, IT Power Limited, The Warren, Bramshill Road, Eversley, Hampshire, United Kingdom, RG27 0PR

Tel: +44 118 973 0073
Fax: +44 118 973 0820
aderrick@itpower.co.uk

Chapter 3

Farinelli, Ugo

Former Director of the Energy
Department of the Italian National Agency for New Technologies Energy and Environment (ENEA)

Tel: +39 06 3627 2521
Fax: +39 06 3627 2280
erg@esedgt.sede.enea.it

Chapter 1

Graham. James

Research Assistant
UNDP Brussels Liaison Office
Rue Montoyer, 14
1000, Brussels, Belgium

Tel: +32 2 505 4627
Fax: + 32 2 503 4729
j.graham@skynet.be

Annex I

Lazarus, Michael

Manager of the International Energy and Environment Programme at the Stockholm Environment Institute, Boston, USA

Tel: +1 617 266 8090
Email: MLAZ@TELLUS.ORG

Chapter 2

Leach, Gerald

Senior Research Fellow of the Stockholm Environment Institute, based in London, United Kingdom

Tel.: +44 171 794 6228
Fax: +44 171 431 6147
Galeach@gn.apc.org

Chapter 2

Ruggeiro, Maurice

Tritech Consulting Engineers based in Suva, Fiji

Tel: +679 322 703
Fax: +679 320 301
Email: Spycom@is.com.fj

Fiji Country Study

Shanker, Anjali

Director, Innovation Energie Développement (IED), 46, rue de Provence,
75009 Paris, France

Tel: +33 1 48 74 6215
Fax: +33 1 48 74 5052
a.shanker-ied@wanadoo.fr

Chapter 2

Sokona, Youba

Director, Environnement et Développement du Tiers Monde(ENDA TM), Dakar, Senegal

Tel: +221 225983
Fax: +221 222496
energy@enda.sn

Chapter 2

Table II.2 Developing Country Experts Invited to Review Draft Report in Vienna, June 1998

Name

Nationality

Position/Institution

Tel/Fax/Email

Adegbulugbe, Anthony

Nigeria

Centre for Energy Research and Development
Obafemi Awolowo University
Ile-Ife, Nigeria

Tel: +234-1 49 77875
Fax: +234-1 4977845
aadegbul@cerd.oauife.edu.ng

Bengaly, Salifou

Mali

AFRITEC
Boulevard Nelson Mandela,
Porte 1351
B.P.E 2502
Bamako, Mali

Tel: +223 21 00 53
Fax: +223 21 00 53

Billy Sow, Aissatou

Guinée

AGUIPER
B.P. 3075
Conakry
Rep. Guinée

Tel: +224 221738/229121
Fax: +224 452346

Boyce, John

Barbados

Ecoenergy Caribbean
Barbados
194 Atlantic Shores,
Christ Church
Barbados

Tel: +246 228 2337
Mobile: +246 220 2494
Fax: +246 420 84 61
jdeboyce@caribsurf.com

Brew-Hammond, Abeeku

Ghana

Acting Director KITE
48 Okodee Road UST
P.O. Box 5601
Kumasi
Ghana

Tel: +233 5160231
Fax: +233 516032/26026
Kite@ghana.com

Cisse, Ibrahima

Côte d’Ivoire

Ministère de l’Energie
Cabinet
BP V6 Abidjan
Côte d’Ivoire

Tel: +225 34 79 12
Fax: +225 34 79 10

Eberhard, Anton

South Africa

Director, Energy & Development
Research Centre, University of Cape Town
Private Bag
Rondebosch 7701, South Africa

Tel: +27 21 650 2827
Fax: +27 21 650 2830
anton@engfac.uct.ac.za

Fifita, Solomone

Fiji

Energy Advisor
Energy Unit
South Pacific Applied Geosciences
Commission (SOPAC)
Suva, Fiji

Tel: +679 381 377
Fax: +679 370 040
solomone@sopac.org.fj

Harris, Hugh

Jamaica

Manager, Demand-Side-Management
Jamaica Public Services Company
PCJ Building - Ground Floor
36 Trafalgar Road
Kingston 10, Jamaica

Tel: +1 876 926 0057
Fax: +1 876 926 0409
hharris@jpsco.com

Maya, Shakespeare

Zimbabwe

Executive Director
SCEE
31 Frank Johnson Avenue
Eastlea
Harare, Zimbabwe

Tel: +263 4 708 551
Fax: +263 4 738 315
scentr@harare.iafrica.com

Mintah, Isaac Kwaku

Ghana

Director of Energy
Ministry of Mines and Energy
P.O. Box 40
Stadium Post Office,
Accra, Ghana

Tel: +233 21 667151
Fax: +233 21 667 119

Ndoutoum, Jean Pierre

Gabon

Institut de l’Energie et de l’Environnement de la Francophonie (IEPF)
56 rue Saint Pierre, 3ème etage
Québec, QUE
Canada G1K 4A1

Tel: +1 418 692 5727
Fax: +1 418 692 5644
jp.ndoutoum@iepf.org

Ouiminga, Seydou

Burkina Faso

Directeur de l’Energie
Direction générale de l’Energie
Ministère de l’Energie et des Mines
01 B.P. 3922
Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso

Tel: +226 34 04 37 and 38
Fax: +226 30 79 78

Raj, Suresh

Fiji

Pacific Regional Energy Programme
G.P.O. Box 14788
Suva, Fiji

Tel: +679 220295
Fax: +679 303828/30161?
Email: Suresh@sprep.org.ws

Razanajatovo, Mamy

Seychelles

Senior Research Officer
Energy Affairs Bureau
Seychelles Bureau of Standards
P.O. Box 953
Victoria
Mahé, Seychelles

Tel: +248 37 53 33
Fax: +248 37 51 51
sborg@seychelles.net

Ruas, Manuel

Mozambique

Instituto de Desenvolvimento Rural (INDER)
Av. Eduardo Mondlane 2221, 2 Andar
Maputo, Mozambique

Tel: +258 1 42 4973/42 46 21
+258 1 42 4973/42 46 80
Fax: +258 1 42 46 23

Ruggiero, Maurice

Fiji

President of Fiji Institution of Engineers
152 Ragg Avenue
Namadi Heights
Suva Fiji

Tel: +679 322 703
Fax: +679 320 301
Spycom@is.com.fj

Salifou, Djibril

Bénin

Ministère des Mines, de l’Energie et de l’Hydraulique (MEMH)
06 B.P. 2049
Cotonou, Bénin

Tel: +229 33 0514
Fax: +229 31 35 46

Sarr, Sécou

Sénégal

Réseau Africain Bioressource Energie pour le Développement & l’Environnement
B.P. 3370
Dakar, Sénégal

Tel: +221 22 24 96
Fax: +221 23 51 57

Siwatibau, Suliana

Vanuatu

Island Consulting
FSPI
P.O. Box 1045
Port Vila
Vanuatu, South Pacific

Tel: +678 22283
Fax: +678 22283
siwatsul@vanuatu.com.vu

Sokona, Youba

Sénégal

ENDA-TM
B.P. 3370
Dakar, Senegal

Tel: +221 225983
Fax: +221 222496
energy@enda.sn

Sy, Bocary

Mali

Conseiller Technique
Ministère des Mines et de l’Energie
P.O. Box 1909
Bamako, Mali

Tel: +223 22 4184/224238
(home) +223 23 0185
Fax: +223 22 2160

Trotz, Neville

Trinidad & Tobago

Caribbean Planning for Adaptation to Global Climate Change CPACC
Cermes Building University of the West Indies
St. Michael, Barbados

Tel: +1 246 417 4581
Fax: +1 246 424 4204
utrotz@ndl.net

Yamba, Francis

Zambia

Director
Centre for Energy-Environment Engineering
Zambia Ltd.
Private Bag E 721
Lusaka, Zambia

Tel: +260 1 236 942
Fax: +260 1 224170
f.d.yamba@eng.unza.zm

Yameogo, Gabriel

Burkina Faso

GERED
Groupe d’étude et de Recherche Energie-Environnement pour le Développement.
01 B.P. 3709 Ouagadougou 01
ou B.P. 540 Ouagadougou
Burkina Faso

Tel: +226 36 80 40
Fax: +226 36 80 40/30 29 66
gered@fasonet.bf

Zhou, Peter

Botswana

Centre for Energy-Environment, Computer and Geographical Ltd.
P.O. Box 402339
Gaborone, Botswana

Tel/Fax: +267 1 307 310
pzhou@global.bw

Table II.3 Representatives of EU Member States’ Government Agencies

Country

Institution

Responsible

Austria

Bundesministerium für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
Ballhausplatz 2
A-1014 Wien
Austria

Guenther Stachel
Head, Technical Cooperation
Tel: +43 1 53115
Fax: +43 1 5354530
Guenther.stachel@wien.bmaa.gv.at

Belgium

Administration Générale de la Coopération au Développement
Institutions Européennes (AGCD)
rue Bréderode, 6
B - 1000 Bruxelles

Patrick De Bouck
Tel: +332 2 519 06 44
Fax: +332 2 519 05 70
m2.euro@badc.fgov.be

Denmark

DANIDA
Royal Danish Ministry of Foreign Affairs
2 Asiatisk Plads
DK-1448 Copenhagen K,
Denmark

Jean Paul Laude
Technical Advisor
Tel: +45 33 92 0000
Fax: +45 31 54 0533
Jealau@um.dk

Finland

Department for International Development Cooperation
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
P.O. Box 127
FIN 00161 Helsinki
Finland

Krister Lonngren
Energy Advisor
Tel. 358 9 1341 6438
Fax. 358 9 1341 6428
Krister.lonngren@formin.fi

France

Direction de la Coopération Scientifique et Technique
Ministère des Affaires Etrangères
244, boulevard Saint Germain
F-75303 Paris 07 SP, France

Janine Ferry
Tel: +33 1 43 17 93 04
Fax: +33 1 43 17 8950
janine.ferry@diplomatie.fr

Germany

Bundeministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ)
Postfach 120322
53045 Bonn
Germany

Dr. Rainer Lotz
Director,
Unit 416 Infrastructure
Tel: +49 228 535 3760
Fax: +49 228 535 3755
Lotz@bmz.bmz.bund400.de


Sector Policy
Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau (KfW)
Palmengartenstrasse 5-9
60325 Frankfurt am Main

Rolf Siefried
Tel: +49 69 7431 3755
Fax: +49 69 7431 3746
Rolf. Seifried@KfW.de


Energy and Transport Division
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Technische Zusammenarbeit (GTZ)
Dag-Hammarsskjöld-Weg 1-5
Postfach 5160
65726 Eschborn, Germany

Bernhard Bösl,
Tel: +49 61 96 79 1626
Fax: +49 61 96 79 7144
Bernhard.boesl@gtz.de

Greece

Hellenic Republic
Ministry of National Economy
Hermou & Kornarou 1 Str.
105 63 Athens
Greece

Ms. Kraia
Directorate for Development Assistance Cooperation
Tel: +301 328 6321
Fax: +301 328 6234

Ireland

Department of Foreign Affairs
76-78 Harcourt Street,
Dublin 2
Ireland

Edward O’Louthlin
Irish Aid
Tel: +35 31 478 0822
Fax: +35 31 408 2844

Italy

Direzione Generale per la Cooperazione allo Sviluppo
Ministero Affari Esteri
Via S. Courtarini, 25
00194 Roma
Italy

Carlo Cibo
Energy-Industry Expert
Unita Tecnica Centrale
Tel: +39 0 6 36 91 41 74
Fax: +39 0 6 324 05 85
Cibo@esteri.it

Luxembourg

Ministère des Affaires Etrangères, du Commerce Extérieur et de la Coopération
6, rue de la Congrégation
L-1352 Luxembourg

Marc Bichler
Service de la Coopération
Tel: +352 478 2346
Fax: +352 22 20 48
Mark.bichler@mae.etat.lu

Netherlands

Ministerie van Buitenlandse Zaken
P.O. Box 20061
2500EB The Hague
The Netherlands

Paul Hassing
Head Climate, Energy and Environmental Technology
Tel: +31 703 48 4306
Fax: +31 703 48 4303
p.hassing@dml.minbuza.nl

Portugal

Instituto de Cooperacaõ Portuguesa
Avenida de Liberdade, 192, 1/5 1250 Lisboa
Portugal

Ms. Henny-Silva
Tel: +351 1 317 6700
Fax: +351 1 314 7897

Spain

Agencia Española de Cooperación Internacional
Ministerio de Asuntos Exteriores
Av. Reyes Catolicos, 4
28040 Madrid
Spain

Jesus Gracia
General Manager ICI (Latin America)
Tel: +34 91 583 8100
Fax: +34 91 583 8219
Jesus.garcia@aeci.es



Senen Florensa
General Manager ICMAPD
(non-Latin America)
Tel: +34 91 583 8181
Fax: +34 91 583 8219
Senen.florensa@aeci.es

Sweden

Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (Sida)
S-105 25
Stockholm
Sweden

Anders Hagwall
Head, Infrastructure Division
Tel: +46 8 698 5000
Fax: +46 8 20 8864
Anders.hagwall@sida.se

United Kingdom

Department for International Development (DFID)
94 Victoria Street
London SW1E 5JL
United Kingdom

Clive Caffall
Energy Advisor
Infrastructure Division
Tel: +44 171 917 0541
Fax: +44 171 917 0072
c-caffall@dfid.gtnet.gov.uk

Table II.4 Representatives of Other Bilateral Government Agencies

Country

Institution

Responsible

Canada

Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)
200 Promenade du Portagu
Hull
Québec
Canada K1A OG4

Gerry Collins
Senior Advisor, Energy Policy Branch
Tel: + 1 819 953 2242
Fax: +1 819 953 3248

Japan

Japanese Ministry for Foreign Affairs
2-2-1 Kasumigaseki
Chiyoda-ku
Tokyo 100-8919
Japan

Toshiki Kato, Grant Aid Division,
Economic Cooperation Bureau
Tel: +81 3 3580 3311
Fax: +81 3 3593 8025
Toshiki.kato@mofa.go.jp


Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)
Shinjuku Maynds Tower Building, 8th Floor
1-1, Yoyogi, 2- Chome
Shibuya-ku
Tokyo, Japan

Kuniaki Nagata
Director, Energy & Mining Development Study Division
Tel: +81 3 5352 5292
Fax: +81 3 5352 5326
nagatak@jica.go.jp


Japanese Overseas Cooperation Fund (OECF)
4-1 Ohtemachi 1- Chome, Chiyoda-ku
Japan

Kaoru Suzuki
Manager Africa Region
Tel. +81 3 3215 1398
Fax. +81 3 3215 1533
Kao-suzuki@oecf.go.jp

USA

US Agency for International Development (USAID)
1300 Pensalyvania Avenue N.W
Washington 20523-3800, D.C.
U.S.A.

Jeff Seabright
Director, Energy and Environment Division.
Tel: +1 202 712 1772
Fax: + 1 202 216 3230
jseabright@usaid.gov

Table II.5 Representatives of Multilateral Development Banks

Institution

Address

Responsible

African Development Bank

Environment & Sustainable
Development Unit
African Development Bank
Abidjan
Côte d’Ivoire

Dr. Yogesh Vyas
Chief Environmental Officer
Tel. +226 20 48 26
Fax +226 20 50 33
y.vyas@afdb.org

Asian Development Bank

Infrastructure, Energy and Financial Sectors Department (East)
Asian Development Bank
6 ADB Avenue
Mandaluyong City
0401 Metro Manila
Philippines

Dr P.N. Fernando
Manager
Tel: +63 2 632 6648
Fax: +63 2 636 2422
pfernando@mail.asiandevbank.org

European Investment Bank

Energy Department
European Investment Bank
100, Boulevard Konrad Adenauer
L-2950 Luxembourg

Ghunter Westermann
Tel: +352 4379 2446
Fax: +352 4379 2492
g.westermann@eib.org

Inter-American Development Bank

Division de Medio Ambiente
Banco Interamericano de Desarrollo
11300 New York Avenue, N.W
Washington, D.C. 20577
U.S.A

Jaime Millan
Chief Economist
Tel: +1 202 623 1949.
Fax: +1 202 623 1786
Jaimem@adb.org

The World Bank

The Energy Unit
Energy, Mining and Telecommunications Department
The World Bank
1818 H Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 29433 U.S.A.

Karl Jechoutek
Division Chief
Tel: +1 202 458 2872
Fax: +1 202 477 0542
Kjechoutek@worldbank.org


Africa Rural Renewable Energy Initiative

Arun Sanghvi
Tel: +1 202 458 2504
asanghvi@worldbank.org


Regional Programme for the Review of the Traditional Energy Sector

Boris Utria
butria@worldbank.org

Table II.6 Multilateral Cooperation Institutions

Institution

Responsible Department

Responsible Person

European Commission
DGVIII: Development

Unit A3 Infrastructure
DGVIII Development
European Commission
Rue de la Loi, 200
B-1049 Bruxelles, Belgium

Eric Donni
Tel: +32 2 295 1259
Fax: +32 2 295 2897
eric.donni@dg8.cec.be

European Commission
DGXI Environment,
Nuclear Safety and Civil Protection

Climate Change Task Force
DGXI, European Commission
Rue de la Loi, 200
B-1049 Bruxelles, Belgium

Peter Horrocks
Tel: +32 2 295 7384
Fax: +32 2 295 9557
peter.horrocks@dg11.cec.be

European Commission
DGXII: Science, Research and Development

Rational Energy Use and Integration of Renewable Resources
DG XII/F/1, MO 7/1
European Commission
Rue de la Loi, 200
B-1049 Bruxelles, Belgium

Domenico Rossetti di Valdalbero
Tel: +32 2 296 2811
Fax: +32 2 299 4991
Domenico.rossetti-di-valdalbero@dg12.cec.be

European Commission
DGXVII: Energy

Energy Cooperation with Non-Member Countries
DG XVII/A/4, TERV, 4/5
European Commission
Rue de la Loi, 200
B-1049 Bruxelles, Belgium

Francois Casana
Tel: +32 2 295 1978
Fax: +32 296 6282
francois.casana@dg17.cec.be


THERMIE
DG XVII/D/1, TERV, 5/4A
European Commission
Rue de la Loi, 200
B-1049 Bruxelles, Belgium

Paula Abreu Marques
Tel: +32 2 295 3805
Fax: +32 2 295 6116
paula.abreu-marques@bxl.dg17.cec.be

UNDP

Energy and Atmosphere Programme (EAP)
Sustainable Energy and Environment Division
UNDP
304 East 45th St.
New York 10017

Prof. Thomas. B. Johansson
Director
Tel: +1 212 906 5030
Fax: +1 212 906 5148
tjohanss@undp.org


New York, USA

Annie Roncerel
Senior Programme Adviser
Tel: +1 212 906 6616
Fax: +1 212 906 5148
annie.roncerel@undp.org

UNEP

Tour Mirabeau, 39-43 quai André Citroën
75739 Paris Cedex 15
France

Mark Radka
Energy Programme Coordinator
Tel: +331 44 37 14 27
Fax: +331 44 37 14 74
mark.radka@unep.fr

UNEP CCEE

UNEP Collaborating Centre on Energy and Environment
Risø National Laboratory
P.O. Box 49
DK-4000 Roskilde
Denmark

John Christiansen
Director
Tel: +45 46 32 2288
Fax: +45 46 31 1999
John.christiansen@risoe.dk