About the Edouard Saouma Award

About the Edouard Saouma Award

 The FAO Conference, at its Twenty-seventh Session held in November 1993, decided that
an "Edouard Saouma Award" be established, for presentation at the beginning of each regular session of the Conference, to a national or regional institution which has implemented with particular efficiency a project funded by the Technical Cooperation Programme (TCP).

 I. Nature of the Award

 - a medal inscribed with the name of the recipient institution; 
- a scroll describing the achievements of the recipient institution; 
- a cash prize of US$ 25,000;

II. Eligibility

Any national or regional institution, which - in the course of the biennium preceding the Conference - has implemented with particular efficiency a project funded by the Technical Cooperation Programme of FAO.

III. Basic Criteria

In the spirit of Conference Resolution 2/93 the winning institution should be one that has implemented a TCP funded project having a model character and which has either :

  • allowed the rapid mobilization of resources or responded efficiently to emergency situations;

  • met successfully unforeseen short-term technical assistance needs which could not be covered by other sources of support;

  • filled a critical gap or had particular catalytic effects in generating investment or large-scale follow-up action, thus expanding the overall volume of agricultural development financing;
  • contributed in a pragmatic and flexible manner to the strengthening of the beneficiary country's capacities in the formulation of national policies for food production, agriculture, fisheries and forestry.

Particular emphasis will be given to the nature, the sustainability and the replicability of the achievements and the catalytic effects generated compared to the inputs provided by the Technical Cooperation Programme.

 IV. Submission of Nominations

Proposals for nomination may be submitted by national institutions to FAO Representatives or UNDP Resident Representatives, as appropriate, for endorsement and eventual submission to the technical department in charge of the project's technical backstopping. FAO Representatives, FAO Regional Representatives or UNDP Resident Representatives, as appropriate, may also submit proposals for nomination directly to the technical department concerned.

Nominations for the Award must be submitted by the FAO Departments to the Coordinator of the TCP Unit. Specific nomination forms and guidelines for their completion can be obtained from the TCP Coordinator's Office.

V. Edouard Saouma Award Ad Hoc Screening Committee

An ad hoc inter-departmental Screening Committee, chaired by the Deputy Director-General and comprising the Assistant Directors-General of all the Headquarters Departments, the Director of the Field Operations Division and the TCP Coordinator as Secretary, will review the list of nominations submitted to it by the Award Secretariat, and establish a short-list of three nominations. The Chairman of the Screening Committee will submit the short-list of three institutions nominated to the Chairman of the Selection Committee.

 VI. Edouard Saouma Award Selection Committee

 The Selection Committee, chaired by the Director-General, and comprising the Independent Chairman of the Council, the Chairman of the Programme Committee and the Chairman of the Finance Committee, will make a final decision on the basis of the short-list submitted by the inter-departmental Screening Committee.

 VII. Conferment of Awards

The Award is conferred for projects completed during the biennium preceding the current one. The Awards for the achievements during the each biennium will be presented by the Director-General during a special ceremony, at the beginning of the Session of the FAO Conference, in November.

The representative of the selected institution will be invited to FAO Headquarters in Rome for the ceremony, the cost of travel and per diem being borne by the Organization.