Cover Image
close this book Measuring drought and drought impacts in Red Sea Province
close this folder 1. Introduction to Red Sea Province
View the document Physical Geography
View the document Precipitation
View the document Political organisation
View the document Infrastructure, economic activities, and employment
View the document Agriculture
View the document Pastoralism
View the document Drought-coping strategies
View the document Population and human geography
View the document Land Tenure
View the document Gender Relations in Beja society
View the document Overview of famine relief in Red Sea Province
View the document References
View the document Appendix 1.1.
View the document Appendix 1.2.

Political organisation

Political organisation in the Sudan observes the following hierarchy: the State ( al-dawla), the Region (al-iqliim), the Province (al-muhaafazha), the District (al-majlis), District Council (al-baladiyya), and the Village Council (al-qariyya). The Red Sea Province is divided into seven administrative districts exclusive of Port Sudan: Derudeb, Halaib, Haya, North Tokar, Rural Port Sudan, Sinkat, and South Tokar. District areas vary enormously (see the map below). The head of each District is the District Officer (dhaabit al-majlis) who administers the District through the District Councils. The District Council is administrated by the Administrative Officer (dhaabit al-idaara). Below this level are two more levels of representation at the village level. The 'umda represents the maximal lineage (the tribe) which may be composed of more than one village or settlement and the shaykh represents the minimal lineage which may also include more than one village or settlement. The principal official duty of the shaykh is to collect taxes on animals. In Red Sea Province deliberative bodies are situated at the Village, District Council, District and Provincial levels.