Cover Image
close this book Measuring drought and drought impacts in Red Sea Province
close this folder 1. Introduction to Red Sea Province
View the document Physical Geography
View the document Precipitation
View the document Political organisation
View the document Infrastructure, economic activities, and employment
View the document Agriculture
View the document Pastoralism
View the document Drought-coping strategies
View the document Population and human geography
View the document Land Tenure
View the document Gender Relations in Beja society
View the document Overview of famine relief in Red Sea Province
View the document References
View the document Appendix 1.1.
View the document Appendix 1.2.

1. Introduction to Red Sea Province

The section below is intended as a general introduction to the papers that follow for those unfamiliar with the Sudan and Red Sea Province. It is not a literature review and was not written for the specialist. Those with some expertise on the Sudan and Red Sea Province may skip over this section.

The Sudan, the largest country in Africa, is composed of nine Regions: Bahr alghazal, Central, Darfur, Eastern, Equatoria, Khartoum, Kordofan, Northern, and Upper Nile. The Red Sea Province, the northern half of the Eastern Region, located in the extreme northeast of the Sudan, is almost the same size as Britain; they measure 217000 and 230000 km2 respectively. The Province is situated between 17 and 23 degrees north of the Equator and 33 to 38 degrees east of Greenwich. Through Red Sea Province is the only outlet for Sudan to the sea (see Map 1.1 below). The mountainous province rises like an island out of the monotonous plains of southern Eastern Region and descends abruptly onto a narrow coastal strip.