Cover Image
close this bookEarthquakes and People's Health (WHO - OMS, 1997, 296 p.)
close this folderPART 6 - SUMMING UP
Open this folder and view contentsReports from the Working Groups
View the documentConclusions and recommendations
View the documentClosing session
View the documentGlossary
View the documentParticipants
Open this folder and view contentsAnnexes



Dr Falah Al Tawil, Director General, Treatment Services, Ministry of Health, Amman, Jordan

Dr Vladimir A. Astakhov, Deputy Director, Far-Eastern Regional Urgent Medical Care Centre, Khabarovsk, Russian Federation

Professor Shigeaki Baba, Professor Emeritus, Kobe University, Chairman, International Institute for Diabetes Education and Study and Honorary President, International Diabetes Federation, Kobe, Japan

Professor Linda B. Bourque, Department of Community Health Sciences, School of Public Health, University of California, Los Angeles, United States of America

Professor Mustafa Erdik, Chairman, Department of Earthquake Engineering, Bogazici University, Kandilli Observatory and Earthquake Research Institute, Istanbul, Turkey

Professor Mamdouh Gabr, Professor of Pediatrics, Cairo University and Secretary General, Egyptian Red Crescent, Cairo, Egypt

Professor Sergey Goncharov, Director, All-Russian Centre for Disaster Medicine "Zaschita", Ministry of Public Health and Medical Industry, Moscow, Russian Federation

Professor Dimitar Jurukovski, Director, Institute of Earthquake Engineering and Engineering Seismology, University "St Cyril and Methodius", Skopje, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

Dr Roman Kintanar, Coordinator, Typhoon Committee Secretariat and Chairman, Seismic Technical Committee, International Decade for Natural Disaster Reduction, Quezon City, Philippines

Mr Haruhiko Kuramochi, Director General, Commerce and Industry Department, Hyogo Prefectural Government, Kobe, Japan

Professor Jeffrey Levett, Director, International Affairs, National School of Public Health, Ministry of Health and Welfare, Athens, Greece

Dr Arthur K. Melkonian, Republican Information and Computer Centre, Ministry of Health, Yerevan, Armenia

Professor Ara M. Minasyan, Chairman, Emergency Medical Scientific Centre, Ministry of Health, Yerevan, Armenia

Mr Masao Miyakawa, Chairman, Earthquake Insurance Committee, The Marine and Fire Insurance Association of Japan, Inc. and Managing Director, Yasuda Fire and Marine Insurance Company Ltd., Tokyo, Japan

Dr Bagus Mulyadi, Director, Private and Specialty Hospitals, Directorate General of Medical Care and Secretary of Crisis Centre, Ministry of Health, Jakarta, Indonesia

Professor Yasushi Nagasawa, Department of Architecture, Graduate School of Engineering, The University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

Dr Eric K. Noji, Chief, International Emergency and Refugee Health Programs, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, United States of America

Dr Jorge Oviedo Arce, Director, Injury Prevention and Control and Health Care in Disaster Programmes, Ministry of Health, Mexico DF, Mexico

Dr Jean Luc Poncelet, Head, Disaster Management Program for South America, WHO/Pan American Health Organization, Quito, Ecuador

Dr Ernesto Pretto, Associate Director, Safar Center for Resuscitation Research, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, United States of America

Professor Shigeaki Sato, Chairman, Department of Hygiene, Kobe University School of Medicine, Kobe, Japan

Dr G.N. Solar Oyanedel, Medico Coordinador, Comité de Emergencias, Servicio de Salud Metropolitano Occidente, Santiago, Chile

Dr Kiyoshi Tatemichi, Director, Emergency Department, Kobe City General Hospital, Kobe, Japan

Dr Ciro Ugarte Casafranca, Director, Disaster Preparedness and Response Division, Ministry of Health, Lima, Peru

Professor H. P. Wölfel, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany and member of European Committee for Standardization (CEN)

Mr Yasuyuki Yasuda, General Manager, Kansai Project Development Division, The Sakura Bank Limited, Kobe, Japan


Mr Shigeaki Araki, Director, General Manager, International Division, The Kobe Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Kobe, Japan

Dr Hiroko Minami, President, College of Nursing Art and Science, Hyogo, Japan

Ms Sheila M. Platt, MSW, Director. External Relations, Community and Family Services International, Makati City. Metro Manila, Philippines and New York, United States of America

Dr Daniel E. Rodriguez, Chief, Department of Medicine, Calderon Guardia Hospital, San Jose, Costa Rica

Dr Setsu Seo, President, Hyogo Medical Association, Kobe, Japan

Ms Kimberley I. Shoaf, Project Manager, Department of Community Health Sciences, School of Public Health, University of California, Los Angeles, United States of America

Dr Shigeru Suganami, President, Association of Medical Doctors of Asia, Okayama, Japan


Mr Toshitami Kaihara, Governor of Hyogo Prefecture, Japan

Mr Kazutoshi Sasayama, Mayor of Kobe City, Japan

Mr Fuyuhiko Maki, Chairman, Kobe Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Japan

Mr Koshi Mizukoshi, Executive Vice President, Kobe Steel, Ltd., Japan

Mr Hirokatsu Yokoyama, Managing Director and Head of Land Development Group, Kobe Steel, Ltd., Japan


Mr Hajime Sasaki, Senior Liaison Officer, United Nations Environment Programme, International Environmental Technology Centre, Osaka, Japan


Dr Hiroshi Nakajima, Director-General, WHO, Geneva, Switzerland

Dr Sang Tae Han, Regional Director, WHO Regional Office for the Western Pacific, Manila, Philippines

Dr M. I. Al-Khawashky, WHO Representative, Egypt

Dr S. Ben Yahmed, Chief, Emergency Preparedness, Division of Emergency and Humanitarian Action, WHO, Geneva, Switzerland

Mr Youcef Ait Chellouche, WHO Liaison Officer, Algeria

Mr Igor Rozov, Information Officer, Health Communications and Public Relations, WHO, Geneva, Switzerland

Dr O. Utsunomiya, Medical Officer, Technology Transfer, WHO Regional Office for the Western Pacific, Manila, Philippines

Dr Bipin K. Verma, Regional Focal Point, Emergency Humanitarian Assistance, WHO Regional Office for South-East Asia, New Delhi, India

Secretariat of the WHO Centre for Health Development

Dr Andrzej Wojtczak, Director

Ms Marilyn Meyers, Assistant Director

Ms Polly Chua, Administrative Assistant

Ms Janet Lowe, Economist

Mr Reiner Schmidt, Environmental Scientist

Dr Saiedeh Zakaria-von Keitz, Information Network Scientist