close this bookVolume 2: No. 19
View the documentNews -- computer industry
View the documentNews -- government science
View the documentNews -- venture capital; business finance
View the documentNews -- new journals; journal calls
View the documentNews -- employment services; job openings
View the documentResources -- pattern-recognition databases
View the documentNews -- executive careers

Technology Studies is a new multidisciplinary journal covering technological adaptation of work organization. Scheduled for 1993 by Walter de Gruyter (Berlin & New York). Sajjad Zahir (zahir@hg.uleth.ca). [BIOMCH-L. Dan Updegrove (updegrove@ai.relay.upenn.edu), C+HEALTH, 4/17.]

SCIENTIFIC PROGRAMMING is a new journal for practical aspects of supercomputer compiler technology (Hans Zima, zima@par.univie.ac.at); data analysis tools (David Callahan, david@tera.com); languages (Jim McGraw, mcgraw@llnl.gov); techniques (Bo Kagstrom, bokg@cs.umu.se); and reviews (Eugene Miya, eugene@orville.nas.nasa.gov). Principal editors are Robert Babb II (babb@cse.ogi.edu) and Ron H. Perrott (r.perrott@v1.qub.ac.uk). [Eugene N. Miya, sci.research, 4/3.]

Three new quarterly journals from the American Russian Technical Exchange Center (ARTEC; Moscow) will carry English summaries of research papers from the CIS: Communications; Reliability Analysis; and Queueing Theory. ARTEC Abstracts will include summaries from books, major journals, and exceptional doctoral dissertations. Contact Harrison & Co., 8909 Glenbrook Road, Fairfax, VA 22031. [Sharon Machlis Gartenberg (sharon@unixland.natick.ma.us), sci.engr, 3/31.]

Journal of Logic, Language, and Information. Kluwer Academic Publishers, (617) 871-6600, fax (617) 871-6528. [IEEE Expert, 4/92.]

Natural Language Semantics: An Int. J. of Semantics and Its Interfaces in Grammar. Three issues per year. Editorial Office, Postbus 17, 3300 AA Dordrecht, The Netherlands. [IEEE Expert, 4/92.]

IEEE Trans. on Neural Networks needs articles. Herbert E. Rauch, Lockheed 92-20/254 E, 3251 Hanover Street, Palo Alto, CA 94034. [IEEE Expert, 4/92.]

Neural Networks. Contact Sun-Ichi Amari (UTokyo), Stephen Grossberg (Boston University Center for Adaptive Systems, Mathematics Dept., 111 Cummington Street, Boston, MA 02215), or Teuvo Kohonen (Helsinki U. of Technology). [IEEE Expert, 4/92.]

Engineering Applications of AI. Contact M.G. Rodd (UWales), G.J. Suski (LLNL, P.O. Box 808, L-550, Livermore, CA 94550), or T.S. Ng (UHong Kong). [IEEE Expert, 4/92.]

Communications of the Chinese and Oriental Languages Information Processing Society (Comm.COLIPS), a new quarterly, is in need of submissions. Kim Teng Lua (luakt@iscs.nus.sg), USingapore. [NL-KR Digest, 3/26.]

Computational theories of interaction and agency; AI Journal. Contact Stan Rosenschein (stan@teleos.com) or Phil Agre (pagre@weber.ucsd.edu) by 9/1. [connectionists, 3/26.]

Multimedia information systems; IEEE Trans. on Knowledge and Data Engineering. Rajiv Mehrotra (rajiv@s.ms.uky.edu); 6/1. [Computer, 4/92.]

Applications of graphics in environmental decision support; IEEE Computer Graphics & Applications. Philip K. Robertson; 6/1. CSIRO Div. of Information Tech., Center for Spatial Information Systems, GPO Box 664, Canberra, ACT 2601, Australia. [Computer, 4/92.]

Parallel and distributed simulation; J. of Parallel and Distributed Computing. Jason Yi-Bing Lin (liny@thumper.bellcore.com); 6/1. [Computer, 4/92.]

Amazing desktop applications; IEEE Computer Graphics & Applications. Jack Grimes (jgrimes@cup.portal.com); 6/15. [Computer, 4/92.]

Dependability of AI systems; IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering, 2/94. Jeffery J.P. Tsai (tsai@bert.eecs.uic.edu), DAI-List, 4/21.

Knowledge acquisition and machine learning; Heuristics: The Journal of Knowledge Engineering. Contact Merrill Warkentin (warkenti@gmuvax.gmu.edu) by 3/15. [Knowledgebase, 1/92.] (The announcement just came!)

Intelligent information systems; Heuristics. Contact F. Golshani (golshani@asuvax.eas.asu.edu) by 4/1. [ibid.]

Software engineering and knowledge engineering: cooperation, competition, and co-competition; Heuristics. Contact Juan Pazos (xpazos@fi.upm.es) by 9/1. [ibid.]

Real-world applications of machine learning techniques; Heuristics. Contact Yves Kodratoff (yk@lri.lri.fr) by 9/1. [ibid.]

Philosophical aspects of heuristics; Heuristics. Contact James H. Fetzer (ifetzer@ub.d.umn.edu) by 1/1/93. [ibid.]

Use of symbolic math packages for AI; AI Exert magazine. Thomas Murphy (c-mt@math.utah.edu). [Pieter Bowman (bowman@math.utah.edu), comp.ai, 4/10.]