Cover Image
close this bookLaunching and Promoting the Female Condom in Eastern and Southern Africa (UNAIDS, 1999, 25 p.)
View the document(introduction...)
View the documentI. Introduction
Open this folder and view contentsII. Major themes
View the documentIII. Conclusions
View the documentList of participants
View the documentBack Cover

List of participants

Botswana

Ms Lydia Seeletso
National HIV/AIDS IEC Coordinator, NAP
Private Bag 00451, Gaborone
Tel: 267 323 148, Fax: 267 323 147/267 302 033

Ms Kenewang Orufheng
Assistant Programme Development Officer
Women’s Affairs Department, Ministry of Labour and Home Affairs
Private Bag 00107, Gaborone
Tel: 267 312 290, Fax: 267 311944

Julia Poloko
Business Administrator, PSI
P/Bag 00465, Gaborone
Tel/Fax: 267 357 610, Email: psibots.lplus@info.bw

Beulah Emig
Promotions Coordinator, PSI
P/Bag 00465, Gaborone
Tel/Fax: 267 357 610, Email: psibots.lplus@info.bw

Mrs Botho Ntswaneng
Counsellor, Botswana Family Welfare Association
Private Bag 00100, Gaborone
Tel: 267 300 489, Fax: 267 301 222

Eritrea

Sr Nighisti Tesfamichael
HIV/AIDS Counsellor & Coordinator, Ministry of Health
PO Box 212, Asmara
Tel: 291 1 12 25 63, Fax 291 1 122899

Mr Zekarias Andemariam
Community Health and Family Planning Instructor, Ghejiret Nursing School
PO Box 6257, Asmara
Tel: 291 182952, Fax 291 1 122899

Dr Abrehet Gebrekidane
UNFPA Consultant, Health Sciences Faculty, Asmara University
P.O. Box 1220, Asmara
Tel: 291 1 1174 64

Ms Saba Issayas
National Professional Project Officer, UNFPA
Andinet Street, PO Box 5366, Asmara
Tel: 291 118 2166, Fax: 291 118 1081

Ethiopia

Mr Goshu Abebe
Project Advisor, DKT
Addis Ababa, P.O. Box 8744,
Tel: 251 1 519300, Fax: 251 1 519966

Dr Hailu Negassa
Head, AIDS Control Programme, Ministry of Health
Addis Ababa, P.O. Box 23056
Tel: 251 1 15 98 75/15 99 88, Fax: 251 1 5193 66

Kenya

Ms Alice Anyona
Gender Programme Officer, Ministry of Culture & Social Services
P.O. Box 30276, Nairobi
Tel: 254 2 228288/220555, Fax: 254 2 337173/241086

Mr Joseph Mwongela
IEC Programme Officer, NACP
P.O. Box 19361, Nairobi
Tel/Fax: 254 2 724068

Mr Stephen Kinyua Mucheke
Programme Officer Male Involvement, Family Planning Association of Kenya
PO Box 30581, Nairobi
Tel: 254 2 603923, Fax: 254 2 603928

Malawi

Effie Pelecamoyo
Deputy Director, Service Delivery National Family Planning Council of Malawi
P/Bag 308, Lilongwe 3
Tel: 265 744106, Fax: 265 744187

Florence Kayambo
Regional AIDS Coordinator, NACP
P.O. Box 95, Lilongwe
Tel: 265 740411

Mauritius

Miss Bedy Budory
Executive Director, Mauritius Family Planning Association
30, Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Street, Port Louis
Tel 230 211 4101/5, Fax 230 2082579

Namibia

Mr Abner Xoagub
NACP Manager, Ministry of Health and Social Services
PO Box 7400, Katutura 9000
Tel 264 61 203 2199/224015, Fax 264 61 224155, Email: nacp@iafrica.com.na

John Harris
Country Representative, PSI
P.O. Box 90072, Katutura
Tel: 264 61 244 936, Fax: 264 61 244 937, Email: jah1@bigfoot.com

South Africa

Dr Kim Dickson-Tetteh
Clinical Director, Reproductive Health Research Unit
Dept of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Baragwanath Hospital - PO Bertsham 2013
Tel: 27 11 933 1234/121228, Fax: 27 11 933 1227, Email: kimdt@pixie.co.za

Dr R. Eddie Mhlanga
Department of Health
P/Bag X828, Pretoria 0001
Tel: 27 12 312 0190, Fax: 27 12 326 2740, Email: mhlane@htlrsa.pwv.gov.za

Andrew Crichton
Department of Health, HIV/AIDS and STDs Directorate
Private Bag X828, Pretoria 0001
Tel: 27 12 312 0132/0122, Fax: 27 12 326 2891 or 328 5473, Email: cricha@hltrsa.pwv.gov.za

Jeff Barnes
Director, Society for Family Health
41 Frost Ave, Johannesburg
Tel: 27 11 482 1427, Fax: 27 11 482 3333, Email: sfhpsi@wn.apc.org

Olu Akanmu
Society for Family Health
41 Frost Ave, Johannesburg
Tel: 27 11 482 1427, Fax: 27 11 482 3333, Email: health@wn.apc.org

Tatiana Ndondo
National Programme Director, Planned Parenthood Association of South Africa
P.O. Box 1008, Melville 2109
Tel: 27 11 482 4601/4661, Fax: 27 11 482 4602, Email: tatiana@ppasa.org.za

Swaziland

Beatrice Dlamini
National AIDS Control Programme
P.O. Box 5, Mbabane
Tel: 268 48440/3, Fax: 268 45397

Smangele Mwanza
Condom Logistics Officer, NAP
Box 2200, Mbabane
Tel: 268 48443, Fax: 268 45397

Mrs Khombi Nkonde
Private Sector/Service Delivery Unit Manager
The Family Life Association of Swaziland “Temndeni”
PO Box 1051, Manzini
Tel: 268 53586/53082/53088/55852, Fax: 268 53191

Tanzania

Ms Rose Mary Mwakitwange
Marketing Manager, PSI
PO Box 33500, Dar es Salaam
Tel: 51 117 312/117 879, Fax: 255 51 117 371, Email: PSITnz@twiga.com

Dr Paul Nico Senge
Head of Epidemiology Unit, National AIDS Control Programme
PO Box 11857, Dar es Salaam
Tel: 255 51 38024/118 581/20468, Fax: 255 51 382 82, Email: epid.nacp@raha.com

Uganda

Professor John Rwomushana
Coordinator, Health and Research, Uganda AIDS Commission Secretariat
PO Box 7072, Kampala
Tel 256 41 530619/530020/075 690742, Fax: 256 41 530619, acook@uga.healthnet.org

Mrs Vastha Kibirige
Head Condom Coordination Unit, STD/ACP, Ministry of Health
P.O. Box 8, Entebbe
Tel 256 42 20534/20297, Fax: 256 41 532930/530619, Email: acp.ebbe@imul.com

WHO

Marilyn Rice
Health Education Specialist, 20, Avenue Appia, CH-1211 Geneva 27, Switzerland
Tel: (41) 22 791 3397/4239, Fax: (41) 22 791 4189, Email: ricem@who.ch

Eeva Ollila
WHO/HRP Geneva, 20, Avenue Appia, CH-1211 Geneva 27, Switzerland
Tel: (41) 22 791 4133, Fax: (41) 22 791 4137, Email: ollilae@who.ch

Dr Lardja Sanwogou
Regional Advisor, WHO/AFRO
Post Bag BE 773, Harare, Zimbabwe
Tel: (263) 4 706951, Fax: (263) 4 705619, Email: sanwogoul@whoafro.org

International Planned Parenthood Federation (IPPF)

Ms Mary Wanjiku Kairu
Programme Advisor, IPPF Regional Office
Madison Insurance House, PO Box 30234, Nairobi, Kenya
Tel 254 2 720 280-2, Fax 254 2 726 596, email ippfaro@arcc.or.ke, ippfaro@kan.healthnet.org, mkairu@ippfaro.org

United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)/South Africa

Sesonke Msimang
UNFPA South Africa
P.O. Box 6541, Pretoria 0001
Tel: 27 12 338 5297, Fax: 27 12 320 4355, Email: smsimang@un.org.za

PSI

Dana Tilson
Programme Manager, PSI, Washington
1120 19th Street, NW, #600, Washington DC, USA
Tel: 202 785 0072, Fax: 202 785 0120, Email: dtilson@psiwash.org

Florence Zake
Programme Manager, PSI, Washington
1120 19th Street, NW, #600, Washington DC, USA
Tel: 202 785 0072, Fax: 202 785 0120, Email: fzake@psiwash.org

Jill Rizika
Programme Manager, PSI, Washington
1120 19th Street, NW, #600, Washington DC, USA
Tel: 202 785 0072, Fax: 202 785 0120, Email: jrizika@psiwash.org

UNAIDS Country Programme Advisers

Bernadette Olowo-Freers
UNAIDS, CPA Zambia
P.O. Box 32346, 10101 Lusaka, Zambia
Tel: (260) 1 22 32 51/3, Fax: (260) 1 22 32 09, E-mail: freers@zamnet.zm

Rudolph Maziya
UNAIDS, CPA Zimbabwe
P.O. Box 4775, Harare, Zimbabwe
Tel: (263) 4 79 26 81, Fax: (263) 4 72 86 95/734932, E-mail: rmaziya@id.co.zw

George Tembo
CPA, UNAIDS Kenya
P.O. Box 30218, Nairobi, Kenya
Tel: 254 2 24 55 68, fax: 254 21 55 34, Email: tembo@arcc.or.ke

Angela Trenton-Mbonde
CPA, UNAIDS Malawi
P.O. Box 30135, Lilongwe 3, Malawi
Tel: 265 78 26 03/823 413, Fax 265 782 350, Email: atrenton-unaids@eo.wn.apc.org

Mulunesh Tennagashaw
CPA, UNAIDS Tanzania
c/o WHO, Luthuli Rd,
P.O. Box 9292, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Tel: 255 0812 781 987, Fax: 255 51 11 31 80, Email: mulu.unaids@twiga.com

Rosalind Saint-Victor
CPA, UNAIDS Sudan
UN Compound
P.O. Box 913, Khartoum, Sudan
Tel: 249 11 77 31 21, Fax: 249 11 78 37 64

Alfred Mikosi
UNAIDS Focal Point, South Africa
P.O. Box 6541, Pretoria 0001, South Africa
Tel: 27 12 338 5311, Fax: 27 12 320 4353, Email: amikosi@un.org.za

Nongovernmental organization/private sector/donor representative

Sylvia Mokgosi
Marie Stopes International
PO Box 679, Auckland Park 2006, South Africa
Tel 0800 11 77 85, Fax 011 482 1448, Email: stopes@wn.apc.org

Musa Njoko
National Association of People Living with HIV/AIDS (NAPWA)
c/o ATIC
PO Box 2443, Durban 4000, South Africa
Tel: 27 31 3698693/3003914, Fax: 27 31 305 5032

Theresa Simwanza
Administrative Officer, Society for Women against AIDS in Africa (SWAA)
c/o CHEP
P.O. Box 23567, Kitwe, Zambia
Tel: 260 1 229512, Fax: 260 1 222723, Email: chep@zamnet.zm

Mary Ann Leeper
Female Health Company,
875 North Michigan Avenue Suite 3660, Chicago, Illinois 60611 USA
Tel: 312 280 1119, Fax 312 2809360, Email: fhc@wwa.com/maleeps@aol.com

Dr Philip Sedlak
Regional Manager for Africa and the Near East
SOMARC/The Futures Group, 33, rue Oued Ouargha
Rabat Agdal, Morocco
Tel: (212) 7 671989, Fax: (212) 7 671984, Email: psedlak@mtds.com

Dr Davy Chikamata
Regional Medical Advisor, E&S Africa
Population Council Regional Office, Nairobi
PO Box 17643, Nairobi, Kenya
Tel 254 2 713 480, Fax 254 2 713 479, Email: dchikamata@popcouncil.or.ke

Steven Mobley
Marketing Analyst, Population Council
4301 Connecticut Ave #280, Washington, DC 20009, USA
Tel: (202) 237 9409, Fax: (202) 237 8410, E-mail: smobley@pcdc.org

Rene Saunders
USAID/South Africa
PO Box 55380, Arcadia 0007, South Africa
Tel: 27 12 323 8869, Fax: 27 12 323 6443, Email: rsaunders@usaid.gov

Sophia Ladha
Health Network Coordinator, USAID Regional Office (REDSO)
PO Box 30494, Nairobi, Kenya
Tel 254 2 751613, Fax 254 2 751613, Email: sladha@usaid.gov

Kirsten M. Vogelsong
Research Advisor, USAID Office of Population
Washington, DC 20523-3601, USA
Tel: (202) 712 1232, Fax: (202) 216 3404, E-mail: kvogelsong@usaid.gov

Speakers/Resource persons

Helen Rees
Director, Reproductive Health Research Unit, Baragwanath Hospital
P.O. Bertsham 2013, South Africa
Tel: (011) 933 1234, Fax: (011) 937 1277, E-mail: helen.rees@pixie.co.za

E. Maxine Ankrah
PhD- PO Box 472, Mukono, Uganda
Tel: 256 41 290 555, Fax: 256 41 343 757/243 757/290211

Elliot Marseille
Senior Research Associate, Institute for Health Policy Studies, University of California
1388 Sutler Street, 11th floor, San Francisco, CA 94109, USA
Tel: 1 510 254 1738, Fax: 1 510 254 3876, Email: emarseille@aol.com

Observers

Priscilla Mishairabwi-Mushonga
Director, Women & AIDS Support Network
P.O. Box 1554, Harare, Zimbabwe
Tel: 263 4 781532/3, Fax: 263 4 772926, Email: wasn@harare.icon

Audrey Pettifor
Researcher, Reproductive Health Research Unit, Baragwanath Hospital
P.O. Bertsham 2013, South Africa
Tel: 27 11 933 1234, Fax: 27 11 933 1227, Email: apettifor@hotmail.com

Zanele Mhlanga-Karl
Health Promotion & Info Officer, WHO South Africa
P.O. BOx 13113, Tramshed 0126, South Africa
Tel: 27 12 338 5204, Fax: 27 12 320 1503, Email: zkarl@un.org.za

Alan Foose
Team Leader, Health Development USAID/South Africa
P.O. Box 55380, Arcadia 0007, South Africa
Tel: 27 12 323 8869, Fax: 27 12 323 6443, Email: afoose@usaid.gov

Kgobati Magome
National AIDS Coordinator, UNAIDS, c/o WHO
P.O. Box 13113, Tramshed 0126, South Africa
Tel: 27 12 338 5212, Fax: 27 12 320 1503, Email: kmagome@un.org.za

Dikeleli Helen Tshukudu
Project Coordinator, Reproductive Health Research Unit, Baragwanath Hospital
P.O, Bertsham, 2013, South Africa
Tel: 27 11 933 1228, Fax: 27 11 933 1227

Winnie Moleko
Project Coordinator, Expanding Contraceptive Choice, Reproductive Health Research Unit
P.O. Bertsham 2013, South Africa
Tel: 27 11 933 1228, Fax: 27 11 933 1227

Secretariat

Elhadj As Sy
Team Leader, UNAIDS/ICT/ESA
P.O. Box 6541, Pretoria 0001, South Africa
Tel: 27 12 338 5308, Fax: 27 12 338 5310, E-mail: assy@un.org.za

Sandra Anderson
Care & Support Advisor, UNAIDS/ICT/ESA
P.O. Box 6541, Pretoria 0001, South Africa
Tel: 27 12 338 5305, Fax: 27 12 338 5310, Email: sanderson@un.org.za

Dolar Vasani
GIPA Coordinator, UNAIDS/ICT/ESA
P.O. Box 6541, Pretoria 0001, South Africa
Tel: 27 12 338 5080, Fax: 27 12 338 5310, Email: dvasani@un.org.za

Heather Houlihan
Technical Officer, UNAIDS/PSR
20 avenue Appia, CH-1211 Geneva 27, Switzerland
Tel: (41) 22 791 4569, Fax: (41) 22 791 4741, Email: houlihanh@who.ch

Jane Cottingham
WHO/HRP
20, Avenue Appia, CH-1211 Geneva 27, Switzerland
Tel: (41) 22 791 4213, Fax: (41) 22 791 4171, Email: cottingham@who.ch

Ms Mary Wanjiku Kairu
Programme Advisor, IPPF Regional Office
Madison Insurance House, PO Box 30234, Nairobi, Kenya
Tel 254 2 720 280-2, Fax 254 2 726 596, email ippfaro@arcc.or.ke or ippfaro@kan.healthnet.org

Richard Delate
UNFPA Consultant, South Africa
Tel: 338 5294, Fax: 320 4355, rdelate@un.org.za

Guy Stallworthy
Director, Technical Services, PSI/Washington
1120 19th St NW, Washington DC 20036, USA
Tel: 202 728 4216, Fax 1 202 785 0120, gstallwo@psiwash.org

Lisa Fox Langhaug
Public Health Consultant
Box MP67, Mt Pleasant, Harare, Zimbabwe
Tel: 263 4 301493, Fax: 263 4 301493, Email: fox@iafricaonline.co.zw

Anna Uko
Admin Assistant, UNAIDS/ICT/ESA, South Africa
Tel: 27 12 338 5309, Fax: 27 12 338 5310, Email: auko@un.org.za

Kim Mbele
Secretary, UNAIDS/ICT/ESA, South Africa
Tel: 27 12 338 5304, Fax: 338 5310, Email: kmbele@un.org.za

Petrus Phiri
Driver, UNAIDS/ICT/ESA, South Africa
Cell: 082 901 4865