Cover Image
close this bookHIV/AIDS and Communication for Behavioural and Social Change: Programme Experiences, Examples, and the Way Forward (UNAIDS, 2001, 68 p.)
View the document(introduction...)
View the documentEpigraphs
View the documentEXECUTIVE SUMMARY
Open this folder and view contentsPURPOSE OF THE WORKSHOP
Open this folder and view contentsTHE ROLE OF COMMUNICATION PROGRAMMING
Open this folder and view contentsTHE UNAIDS COMMUNICATION FRAMEWORK: FOCUS ON THE FOREST, NOT THE TREES
Open this folder and view contentsNEXT STEPS ON OPERATIONALIZING THE UNAIDS COMMUNICATION FRAMEWORK
Open this folder and view contentsWORKSHOP RECOMMENDATIONS
View the documentCONCLUDING REMARKS
View the documentREFERENCES
View the documentAPPENDIX A: Workshop Background Note
View the documentAPPENDIX B: Workshop Participant List
View the documentAPPENDIX C: Workshop Agenda

APPENDIX B: Workshop Participant List

Marian Amissah
Deputy Head of Unit
Ministry of Health
Health Education Unit
P.O. Box GP 753
Accra
Ghana
Tel: (233 21) 66 70 81
Fax: (233 21) 23 8256

Collins Airhihenbuwa
Professor of Behavioural Health
Pennsylvania State University
Department of Biobehavioural Health
& Human Development
304 East University Park
PA 16802
USA
Tel: (1 814) 865 1382
Fax: (1 814) 863 7525
e-mail: aou@psu.edu

Sevim Ahmedov
National Programme Officer
UNDP
Sofia
Bulgaria
Tel: (359 2) 974 3419
Fax: (359 2) 974 3089
e-mail: sevim.ahmedov@undp.org

Tin Aung
Research Coordinator
Population Services International (PSI)
36 Golden Hill Avenue
Bahan Tovonchip
Yangon
Myanmar
Tel: (951) 514 473
Fax: (951) 527 668
e-mail: psimyan2@mptmail.net.mm

Jacques Boyer
UNICEF
Rue Armand Holly/Dssy
BP 1363
Port-au-Price
Haiti
Tel: (509) 245 3525 / 1424 / 2890
Fax: (509) 245 1877
e-mail: jboyer@unicef.org

David Bridger
Information Support Advisor
UNAIDS Asia Pacific Intercountry Team (APICT)
United Nations Building
Rajdamnern Nok Avenue, Dusit
Bangkok 10200 THAILAND
Switzerland
Tel: +662 288 2179
Fax: +662 288 1092
e-mail: bridger.unescap@un.org

Fekerte Belete
Health Programme Manager
PACT - Ethiopia
W17, K23
H. No. 2239
P.O. Box - 13180
Ethiopia
Tel: (251 16) 23 787
Fax: (251 16) 23 789
e-mail: fbelete@pacteth.org

Maurizio Bussi
Programme Officer
Labour Protection Department
ILO
1211 Geneva 27
Switzerland
Tel (41 22) 799 64 56
e-mail: bussi@ilo

Kwame Boafo
Programme Specialist
Coordination and Evaluation Unit
Sector of Communication, Information & Informatics
UNESCO
7, place de Fontenoy
75352 Paris 07 SP
France
Tel: (33 1) 45 68 44 95
Fax: (33 1) 45 68 55 81/55 85
e-mail: K.Boafo@unesco.org

Sylvie Cohen
Senior Technical Officer - Technical Branch
Technical and Policy Division
UNFPA
220 East 42nd Street
17 th Fl.
New York, NY 10017
USA
Tel: (1 212) 297 52 38
Fax: (1 212) 297 5145
e-mail: cohen@unfpa.org

Robert Mnthenga Chizimba
Acting Director
Department of Information
Research & Planning Unit
P.O. Box 494
Blantyre
Malawi
Tel: (265) 642 600
Fax: (265) 642 364

Pauline Cassalom
National AIDS Control Programme
Burkina Faso
Tel: (226) 32 41 88
Fax: (226) 31 08 72
e-mail: spcnls@fasonet.bf

James Deane
Executive Director
Panos Institute
9 White Lion St.
London N1 9PD, UK
Tel: +44 (0)20 7278 1111
Direct line: +44 (0)20 7239 7602
email: jamesd@panoslondon.org.uk

Akin Fatoyinbo
Senior Regional Communication Specialist
The World Bank
01 B.P. 1850
Abidjan
Cote D’Ivoire
Tel: (225 22) 44 22 27
Fax: (225 22) 44 16 87/22 44 79 79
e-mail: afatoyinbo@worldbank.org

Sarah Gordon
Director
National AIDS Control Programme
Division of Health Sciences Education
Ministry of Health Annex
Liliendaal,
Greater Georgetown
Guyana
Tel: (59 2) 22 44 14/20 34 39
Fax: (59 2) 22 44 13
e-mail: dhse@sdnp.org.gy

Debbie Gachuhi
Academy for Educational Development
P. O. Box 21529
Nairobi, Kenya
Tel: (254 2) 57 48 06
e-mail: dgachuhi@yahoo.com or
dgachuhi@africaonline.co.ke

Doris D’ Cruz Grote
HIV/AIDS Programme Adivser
UNICEF/UNAIDS
UNICEF House
73 Lodi Estate
New Delhi, 110 003
India
Tel: (91 11) 469 0401
Fax: (91 11) 462 75 21
e-mail: dgrote@unicef.org

Roman Gailevich
UNTG Projects Coordinator
UNDP
UN Office
Kirou Str. 17
G.P.O. Box 103
220050 Minsk
Belarus
Tel: (375 17) 227 7822
Fax: (375 17) 226 0340
e-mail: roman.gailevich@undp.org

Kristine Greenaway
Director, Communication
World Council Of Churches
Room Lac-323
WCC
Geneva
Switzerland
Tel: (41 22) 791 61 68
Fax: (41 22) 798 13 46
e-mail: kg@wcc-coe.org

Treven Hendricks
National Council of YMCAs
P. O. Box 31045
Braamfontein 2017
South Africa
Tel: (27 11) 339 1385
Fax: (27 11) 339 7184
e-mail: treven@global.co.za

Rana Ibrahim
IEC Officer
National AIDS Control Programme
Beirut
c/o WHO Office
Glass Bldg - Museum
P.O. Box 5391
Beirut
Lebanon
Tel: (96 1) 156 6100/1
Fax: (96 1) 156 6102
e-mail: wholeb_nap@inco.com.lb

Jack Jones
School Health Team Leader
Department of Health Promotion, Noncommunicable Disease Prevention &
WHO
20 Avenue Appia
1211 Geneva 27
Switzerland
Tel: (41 22) 791 2582
Fax: (41 22) 791 4186
e-mail: jonesj@who.int

Mary Wanjiku Kairu
IPPF/Africa Region
Madison Insurance House
1st Floor, Ngong/Upper Hill Road
P.O. Box 30234
Nairobi
Kenya
Tel: (254 2) 720 280
Fax: (254 2) 712 819/712 853
e-mail: mkairu@ippfaro.org

Theresa Lethu
Tobacco Free Initiative
Division of Noncommunicable Diseases & Mental Health
WHO
20 Avenue Appia
1211 Geneva 27
Switzerland
Tel: (33 6) 1037 3090
e-mail: lethul@who.int

Silvia Luciani
Acting Senior Advisor - Communication
UNICEF HQ
PCSM/Programme Division
Tel: (1 212) 824 6608
Fax: (1 212) 824 6484
e-mail: sluciani@unicef.org

Laurie Liskin
Chief
Europe and New Independent States Division
Johns Hopkins University /
Center for Communication Programmes
111 Market Place
Baltimore, MD 21202
USA
Tel: (1 410) 659 6300
Fax: (1 410) 6596266
e-mail: lliskin@jhuccp.org

Paul Kaggwa
Assistant Commissioner for Health Education
Ministry of Health
P.O. Box 7272
Kampala
Uganda
Tel: (256 41) 234 591/2 or (256 41) 77 50 77 99
Fax: (256 41) 259 146 / 256 41 258 173

G. Kiangi
Ministry of Health
Health Education Unit
P.O. Box 65219
Dar es Salaam
Tanzania
Tel: (255 22) 215 03 08
Fax: (255 22) 215 03 08

Emelyn Q. Libunao
Staff Director
Philippine Information Agency (PIA)
Programme Development Division
Visayas Avenue
Quezon City
Philippines
Tel: (63 2) 921 7941 ext. 4259
Fax: (63 2) 920 4348
e-mail: pdd@pia.gov.ph

Jordi Lozano
Honorary President & Coordinator
Gay and Lesbian Coordination Group
& Democracy is Equality Campaign
Barcelona
Spain
Tel: (34 93) 298 0029
Fax: (34 93) 298 0618
e-mail: jpetit@pangea.org

Ana Lopez
Communication Adviser for the Latin American International
Center for Communication Professional Studies
Av. Diego de Almagro N. 32-133 Y Andrade Marin
Quito
Ecuador
Tel: (503 2) 506 151
Fax: (593 2) 502 487
e-mail: formprof@ciespal.org.ec

Kurian Manoj
Programme Executive Health and Healing
World Council Of Churches
Room Lac-323
WCC
Geneva
Switzerland
Tel: (41 22) 791 6323
e-mail: mku@wcc-coe.org

Aida Mahomed
IEC Adviser
National AIDS Control Programme
Ministo da Saude
Av. Eduardo Mondlane
Salvador Allende
CP 264
Maputo
Mozambique
Tel/Fax: (258 1) 430 970
e-mail: aidamid-63@hotmail.com

Narcisse de Medeiros
Regional Adviser Programme - Communication
UNICEF - W&C Africa
Immeuble Alliance-EcoBank-Paribas
Rue Lecoeur, Quartier Plateau
04 BP 443 Abidjan 04
Cd’Ivoire
Tel: (225 20) 20 81 02
Fax: (225 20) 22 76 07
e-mail: ndemedeiros@unicef.org

Andre Oliver
Associate Director, Communications
The Rockefeller Foundation
420 5th Ave.
New York, N.Y. 10018
USA
Tel: (1 212) 852 84 88
Fax.: (1 212) 852 84 41
e-mail: aoliver@rockfound.org

Dan Odallo
Communication & Community
Mobilization Adviser
ICT Eastern & Southern Africa
UNAIDS
Metropark Bldg, 351 Schoeman Street
P.O. Box 6541
Pretoria 0001
South Africa
Tel: 27 12 338 5080 (direct)
Fax: 27 12 338 5310
dodallo@un.org.za

Festus Oyaide
Press Officer
National Action Committee on AIDS (NACA)
Federal Secretariat Complex
Abuja, Nigeria
Tel: (234 9) 523 4253
e-mail: naca@inet.global.com

Pok Panhavichetr
Executive Director
Khmer HIV/AIDS NGO Alliance (KHANA)
13 St 302 Boeung Keng Kang I
P.O. Box 2311
Chamcarmorn
Phnom Penh 3
Cambodia
Tel: (855 23) 211 505
Fax: (855 23) 214 049
e-mail: khana@bigpond.com.kh

Arletty Pinel
Associate Director, Behaviour Change Interventions
Family Health International
HIV/AIDS Prevention and Care Department
2101 Wilson Blvd., Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22201
USA
Tel: +1 703 516-9779 Ext. 133
Fax: +1 703 516-9781
e-mail: apinel@fhi.org

Julia Ross
Writer/Researcher
The Synergy Project
1101 Vermont Ave NW
Suite 900
Washington, DC 20005
USA
Tel: (1 202) 842 2939 ext. 101
Fax: (1 202) 842 3646

Cho Kah Sin
Assistant Director
Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)
Bureau of Economic and Functional Cooperation
70 A Jl. Sisingamangaraja
Jakarta 12110
Indonesia
Tel: (62 21) 726 2991//734 3372 ext. 341
Fax: (62 21) 739 8234/724 3504
e-mail: cho@aseansec.org

Mary Simat
P.O. Box 388
Narok
Kenya
e-mail: atmuiriu@inconnect.co.ke

Arvind Singhal
Professor, College of Communication
School of Interpersonal Communication
206 Lasher Hall
Ohio University
Athens, OH 45701
USA
Tel: (1 740) 593 4903
Fax: (1 740) 593 4810
e-mail: singhal@oak.cats.ohiou.edu

Anton Schneider
Director
The Change Project
Academy for Educational Development
1825 Connecticut Ave, nw
Washington, DC 20009
USA
Tel: (1 202) 884 8730
Fax: (1 202) 884 8454
e-mail: aschneid@aed.org

Tall Cheick Tidiane
AFRICASO/WANASO
WANASO, ENDA Tiers Monde
BP 3123
Bamako
Mali
Tel: ((223) 225 564
Fax: (223) 23 25 93
e-mail: end-bko@spider.toolnet.org or
tidiane.tall@caramail.com

Anne Wilson
PATH
1990 M Street, NW
Suite 700
Washington, DC 20036
USA
Tel: (1 202) 822 0033
Fax: (1 202) 457 1466
e-mail: Emurphy@path-dc.org

Hany Ziady
Officer UNAIDS Project
AIDS Information Center
WHO/EMRO
Alexandria - 21511
Egypt
Tel: (203) 48 20 223
Fax: (203) 48 38 916/ 48 24 329
e-mail: ziadyH@who.sci.eg

UNAIDS Geneva:

UNAIDS
20 Avenue Appia
CH-1211 Geneva 27
Switzerland

Kathleen Cravero
Deputy Executive Director
Office of Deputy Executive Director
Tel. (41 22) 791 4716
Fax. (41 22) 791 4187
craverok@unaids.org

Werasit Sittitrai
Associate Director
Department of Policy, Strategy and Research
Tel: (41 22) 791 4457
Fax: (41 22) 791 4165
sittitraiw@unaids.org

Robert Hecht
Associate Director
Department of Policy, Strategy and Research
Tel: (41 22) 791 4355
Fax: (41 22) 791 4741
hechtr@unaids.org

Joanna Adusei
Graduate - Intern from Columbia University
Department of Policy, Strategy and Research
Tel: (41 22) 791 4523
Fax: (41 22) 791 4165
aduseij@unaids.org or
joa2@columbia.edu

Soji Adeyi
Technical Resource Networks
Department of Policy, Strategy and Research
Tel: (41 22) 791 4231
Fax: (41 22) 791 4165
Adeyio@unaids.org

Tina Boonto
Best Practice Officer and Programme Review Committee Secretary
Department of Policy, Strategy and Research
Tel: (41 22) 791 4699
Fax: (41 22) 791 4741
Boontok@unaids.org

Jose Esparza
Vaccine Team Leader
UNAIDS/WHO
Tel: (41 22) 791 4392/3484
Fax: (41 22) 791 4865
Esparzaj@unaids.org

Nina Ferencic
Programme Development Officer
Department of Country Planning and Programme Development (CPP)
Tel: 41 22 791 4812
Fax: 41 22 791 4162
Ferencicn@unaids.org

Michael Fox
Communications Adviser
Department of Policy, Strategy and Research
foxmp@unaids.org

Meskerem Grunitzky-Bekele
Associate Director and Manager, International Partnership Against AIDS
Department of Country Planning and Programme Development (CPP)
Tel: (41 22) 791 4412/4612
Fax: (41 22) 791 4162
grunitzkybekelem@unaids.org

Andrew Doupe
World AIDS Campaign Focal Point
Communication and Public Information
Department of External Relations
Tel: (41 22) 791 4765
Fax: (41 22) 791 4188
e-mail: doupea@unaids.org

Peter Ghys
Senior Epidemiologist
Department of Policy, Strategy and Research
Tel: (41 22) 791 4251
Fax: (41 22) 791 4741
Ghysp@unaids.org

Lorna Guinness
Economist
Department of Policy, Strategy and Research
Tel: (41 22) 791 4917
Fax: (41 22) 791 4741
guinnessl@unaids.org

Aurorita Mendoza
Health Promotion and Gender Adviser
Department of Policy, Strategy and Research
Tel: (41 22) 791 4508
Fax: (41 22) 791 4746/4741
Mendozaa@unaids.org

Bunmi Makinwa
Communications Adviser
Department of Policy, Strategy and Research
Tel: (41 22) 791 4552
Fax: (41 22) 791 4165
makinwab@unaids.org

Miriam Maluwa
Human Rights Adviser
Department of Policy, Strategy and Research
Tel: (41 22) 791 4675
Fax: (41 22) 791 4784
maluwam@unaids.org

Jean Mason
Technical Adviser
Department of Policy, Strategy and Research
Tel: (41 22) 791-4423
Fax: (41 22) 791-4165
masonj@unaids.org

Salvator Niyonzima
Focal Point GIPA
Department of Policy, Strategy and Research
Tel: (41 22) 791 4448
Fax: (41 22) 791 4741
niyonzimas@unaids.org