Cover Image
close this bookA Complete Guide to Uganda's Fourth Constitution - History, Politics and the Law (Fountain Publishers, 1995, 118 p.)
View the document(introduction...)
View the documentAcknowledgement
View the documentForeword by Justice B.J. Odoki*
View the documentPreface by Stephen Besweri Akabway*
View the documentIntroduction by J.F. Wapakabulo*
View the documentAbbreviations
View the documentMap of Uganda
View the documentChronology of Events Leading to the New Constitution
View the document1995 Constitution at a Glance
Open this folder and view contentsChapters
Open this folder and view contentsAppendices
View the documentBibliography
View the documentBack Cover

Chronology of Events Leading to the New Constitution


January 26th:

NRM Government comes to power and promises fundamental changes including a new constitution for Uganda.


October 5th:

The Uganda Constitutional Commission Bill tabled in the National Resistance Council (NRC) by Sam Njuba then Minister of State for Constitutional Affairs.

October 24th:

NRC pass Constitutional Bill establishing the Uganda Constitutional Commission to prepare a draft constitution.


February 14th:

President Yoweri Museveni appoints members of the Constitutional Commission.


April 21st:

The Uganda Constitutional Commission term extended by two year to enable it complete its work.


December 31st:

The Constitutional Commission chairman - Justice Ben Odoki - presents the Report and Draft Constitution to President Yoweri Museveni at Mbarara District Resistance Council Hall.


February 16th:

The Constituent Assembly Bill seeking to establish the Constituent Assembly to debate the new constitution, is presented to the NRC.

February 18th:

Vice chairman of NRC reveals that over 240 CMs had registered to debate the Constituent Assembly Bill.

April 20th:

Constituent Assembly Bill passed.

June 20th:

The Constituent Assembly Commissioner Stephen Akabwai, and two deputies appointed by President Museveni.

November 8th:

Voters registration begins

December 23rd:

Registration exercise ends.


January 17 - 18th:

Nominations of candidates.

March 28th:

Constituent Assembly elections held nationwide.

April 8th:

Youth elections.

April 17th:

Disabled persons elect their delegate to the Assembly.

April 18th:

Political parties, DP and CP elect their Constituent Assembly Delegates.

April 22nd:

Workers elect their delegates to the Constituent Assembly.

April 25th:

Women elections.

April 30th:

Presidential nominees appointed by the President, NRA elects its delegates.

May 12th:

Constituent Assembly Delegates sworn-in.

May 17th:

The Constituent Assembly elects James Wapakhabulo and Victoria Mwaka as Chairman and Deputy Chairman respectively.

May 18th:

President Yoweri Museveni formally opens the Constituent Assembly.

May 20th:

Constituent Assembly deliberations begin.

May 21st:

Constituent Assembly adjourns till June 7th for consultations, and also to allow the secretariat to organise logistical and administrative facilities.

July 14th:

Sixteen delegates launch a pressure group known as "National Caucus for Democracy."

August 25th:

Constituent Assembly passes the first article of the new constitution stipulating that all power belongs to the people who shall exercise their sovereignty in accordance with (he constitution.

October 5th:

Constituent Assembly adopts Select Committee debates.

October 11th:

Committee IV passes provision maintaining Uganda as one sovereign state and a republic.

November 8th:

Committee IV rejects amendment seeking to merge all districts in Buganda into a giant one called "Buganda District."

November 11th:

Multiparty activists walk out of Committee V after it passed a motion extending the Movement System of government for five years after the new constitution comes into force.

November 15th:

Multiparty activists who walked out of select Committee V call for the adjournment of the Assembly to enable them consult their constituents.

November 30th:

Constituent Assembly Chairman James Wapakhabulo presents a Business Committee report asking for a 6-month extension of the Assembly tenure.

December 7th:

Multipartyist who walked out of select Committee V reach an understanding with the CA Chairman. It was agreed that the controversial article be revisited in the plenary session.

December 8th:

The NRC extends the life of the CA by six months with effect from December 12th.

December 16th:

Constituent Assembly adjourns for a three week Christmas recess till January 10th.


January 17th:

Select Committee IV of the Constituent Assembly recommends to the plenary session decentralisation to districts.

March 28th:

Constituent Assembly plenary rejects a federal system of government based on regions.

April 12th:

The Assembly adjourns for two-week Easter recess till April 25th.

April 27th:

The Constituent Assembly adjourns to May 22nd, because the Secretariat had not finalised the reports on chapters on Representation of the people, Land and Environment, Amendment of the Constitution, and Transition Provisions.

June 2nd:

Debate on whether the Presidential and Parliamentary elections should be held on the same day or not, becomes contentious and the Chairman sends the delegates for seven days consultation.

June 12th:

Multi-party advocates walk out of the Constituent Assembly after losing a motion to delete the Movement System from the Draft Constitution.

July 4th:

Multi-partyists who walked out return to the House.

July 7th:

Consideration stage ends, Constituent Assembly goes on a three week recess till July 30th.

July 31th:

Constituent Assembly reconsideration stage begins.

August 10th:

The Assembly passes amendment deeming districts of Buganda as having united.

August 25th:

Constituent Assembly completes debate of the new Constitution at 10.35 p.m.

September 22nd:

Enactment of Constitution.

October 8th:

Promulgation of the Constitution.