Cover Image
close this bookSafe Blood in Developing Countries - The Lessons from Uganda (EC, 1995, 151 p.)
close this folderAppendices
View the documentAppendix 1: EC support for safe blood in developing countries
View the documentAppendix 2: Useful references

Appendix 1: EC support for safe blood in developing countries

The EC has provided technical and financial support to 47 safe blood projects in 29 developing countries to a total amount of 35 million ECU.

Past programmes:

Burundi, Chad, Costa Rica, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Grenada, Honduras, Mali, Mexico, Niger, Zaire.

Ongoing programmes:

1. Angola

In an initial phase EC support was given to strengthen safe blood activities in the blood transfusion centres at provincial level. Following the period of civil war these activities are starting up again via the strengthening of the role of the National Blood Transfusion Service in Luanda as well as the services at provincial level.

2. Benin

The EC supports government measures to strengthen the facilities and capabilities of the public health services in the southern departments of Benin. This includes support for the development of a national blood policy of the Ministry of Health, the creation or upgrading of regional blood banks in the three departments, Atlantique, Mono and Queme, and the training of health staff in charge of blood transfusion in Benin.

3. Cameroon

Support was given to develop a national policy and to strengthen two regional blood transfusion centres in Yaounde and in Douala, the country's main urban centres. These centres were refurbished and blood collection, screening and storage facilities and procedures were improved. Blood donor recruitment was expanded and reoriented towards blood collection among students and enterprises.

4. Congo

The objective of EC support is to assist the government in the development of a national blood policy and to establish a regional blood transfusion centre in Pointe Noire, the country's second largest town, to collect, test and supply safe blood for the hospitals in town and the region around. The premises were rehabilitated, staff has been trained, equipment and supplies were provided. A national legislation on voluntary blood donation and blood transfusion was adopted.

5. Guinea Conakry

The goal of EC support to safe blood activities in Guinea Conakry, carried out with the support of the Belgian Red Cross Society, is the installation of a National Blood Transfusion Service in Conakry as well as blood banks in the prefectures and the training of the personnel of these structures. Considerable efforts have been made regarding the selection of blood donors among school students, the military and the private sector.

6. Guyana

With EC support, a National Blood Transfusion Service has been set up with a blood bank and testing laboratory for HIV and other infections in Georgetown, using voluntary donors. Testing is done on blood from New Amsterdam, Linden and Suddie hospitals.

7. Haiti

With the technical support of the French Red Cross Society, the European Commission supports safe blood activities established by the Haitian Red Cross Society as well as by the public hospitals in the country.

8. Ivory Coast

Following support given to the safe blood activities of the National Blood Transfusion Service in Abidjan and the Regional Blood Transfusion Service in Korhogo and Bonake, coverage has been extended to all transfusion services in the country's hospitals. The role played by the NBTS and the RBTS in training and supervision is crucial for this development.

9. Lesotho

Support is given to the national health budget to sustain the safe blood services which have been put in place, with particular attention for the promotion of regular donations of blood by voluntary donors.

10. Madagascar

EC support consists of strengthening the National Blood Transfusion Service in order to ensure blood provision for the hospitals in Antananarivo (needs amounting to 8,000 blood units per year). Support is also provided to strengthen its role of supervision, training and participation in the definition of a national blood transfusion policy.

11. Mauritius

EC support is provided for essential equipment for blood safety, supervision and quality control, and the improvement of the utilization of blood.

12. Rwanda

EC support (joint action with Belgian Cooperation and Belgian Red Cross) has strengthened the screening capacity of the National Blood Transfusion Service and the organisation of counselling. Following the political conflict all support has been suspended but hopefully will resume soon.

13. STom Principe

The EC supports the rehabilitation and reorganisation of the blood bank of the main government hospital of STomy training of laboratory technicians and the provision of equipment and laboratory supplies. The provision of safe blood to health centres outside the capital is envisaged for the near future.

14. Zambia

The EC supported Zambia to establish a national blood transfusion service, to reactivate voluntary donor recruitment and to improve and safe blood facilities and practice throughout the country. A national blood policy has been formulated within the government's health system reform. The ZNBTS is directed by a core team and consists of two central blood centres serving Zambia's most populated regions around Lusaka and the Copperbelt, and 7 regional blood centres which serve the major provincial hospitals and provide training and support for the staff responsible for blood transfusion at the district hospitals in their area.

15. Zimbabwe

The Zimbabwe Blood Transfusion Service decided to extend donor recruitment and the provision of safe blood to hospitals by creating regional blood transfusion centres. So the EC assisted to create new transfusion centres in three regions (Gweru, Masvingo and Mutare), to improve capacities at the Harare centre through support for staff training, transport and laboratory supplies, and to develop a policy for blood use.