Cover Image
close this bookEnvironmentally Sound Technologies for Women in Agriculture (IIRR, 1996, 213 p.)
View the documentAcknowledgements
View the documentPreface
Open this folder and view contentsAnimal husbandry and dairying
Open this folder and view contentsVegetables and post-harvest technologies
Open this folder and view contentsOrganic farming
Open this folder and view contentsSeed production and storage
Open this folder and view contentsPests and pesticides
Open this folder and view contentsDrudgery reduction
Open this folder and view contentsWater management for farm and home
Open this folder and view contentsFish production
Open this folder and view contentsAppendices


The many partners and participants listed below provided generous financial and technical support to the workshop. Their valuable contributions are gratefully acknowledged.

Dr. Julian Gonsalves, Executive Vice-President for Program, IIRR, for the concept
Dr. C. Prasad, Secretary General, IF WA, for strong support and involvement
Dr. M. S. Swaminathan, Chairman, IFWA, for support for this activity
Dr. B. N. Chaudhary, Member Project Advisory Committee, for help in accounting

Funding agencies

International Development Research Centre (IDRC), New Delhi

Mr. Ravi Maithel
Principal Program
Officer, IDRC
New Delhi



All members of the Central Advisory Committee

Dr. (Ms.) Ruth Alsop, Programme Officer, Sustainable Agriculture, Ford Foundation, New Delhi

Dr. (Mrs.) Rekha Bhagat, Senior Scientist, Division of Agriculture Extension, Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), New Delhi

Mrs. Anjali Capila, Senior Lecturer, Department of Community Resource Management and Extension, Lady Irwin College, New Delhi

Mrs. Neelam Chhabra, Editor - English, Krishi Anusandhan Bhawan, New Delhi

Dr. B. N. Chaudhary, Assistant Director General (Lab to Land Programme), Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), Krishi Anusandhan Bhawan, New Delhi

Dr. Julian F. Gonsalves, Executive VicePresident for Program, IIRR

Dr. M. Y. Kamal, Assistant Director General (Inland Fisheries), ICAR, Krishi Anusandhan Bhawan, New Delhi

Dr. (Mrs.) Kamala Kumar, Director, Department of Science and Technology, Technology Bhawan, New Delhi

Dr. P. N. Mathur, Joint Director (Extension), Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi

Dr. A. C. Mathur, Ex-Assistant Director General (Animal Science), ICAR, New Delhi

Dr. (Mrs.) Minnie Mathew, World Food Programme, New Delhi

Dr. C. Prasad, Secretary-General, IFWA and Ex-Deputy Director General (Extension),
Krishi Anusandhan Bhawan, New Delhi

Dr. R. D. Sharma, Director, Publications and Information, ICAR, Krishi Anusandhan
Bhawan, New Delhi

Dr. K. N. Singh, Assistant Director General, National Agricultural Research Project,
ICAR, Krishi Anusandhan Bhawan, New Delhi

Dr. Vijaylakshmi, Managing Director, Canadian Cooperative Association, New Delhi

All members of Regional Advisory Committee

Arid and semi-arid region (Udaipur)

Dr. Ajit Gupta, Zonal Coordinator Transfer of Technology (TOT), ICAR, CAZRI, Jodhpur

Dr. (Mrs.) Pushpa Gupta, Dean, College of Home Science, Rajasthan Agricultural University, Udaipur

Dr. H. C. Sharda, Chief Training Organizer, Vidya Bhawan, Krishi Vigyan Kendra, Badgaon, Udaipur

Plains (Indore)

Dr. P. Das, Ex-Zonal Coordinator (TOT), ICAR, JNKVV, Jabalpur

Dr. W. R. Deshpande, Ex-Joint Director (Re search and Extension), JNKVV, Indore

All participants in Regional Advisory Committee meetings

All workshop participants


Ms. Indrani Biswas
Mr. Ric Cantada
Mr. Neeraj Kochar


Mr. David Abbass
Mr. Scott Killough
Dr. Paul Mundy
Mr. Jaime Ronquillo

All manuscript contributors

IFWA staff
Ms. Shilpi Gupta
Ms. Abhilasha Mathur
Ms. Puja Wadhwa

Desktop publishing staff in the Philippines

Ms. Mamet Magno
Ms. Jel Montoya
Ms. Angie Poblete

Staff of the Environment, Natural Resources and Agriculture Division, IIRR

Farm women, extension workers and scientists who have assisted in the development of these materials