Cover Image
close this bookDiffusion of Information Technology - Experience of Industrial Countries and Lessons for Developing Countries (WB, 1995, 230 p.)
View the document(introduction...)
View the documentForeword
View the documentAbstract
View the documentAcknowledgements
View the documentExecutive summary
View the documentIntroduction
Open this folder and view contentsInformation technology and its diffusion
Open this folder and view contentsAn analytical framework for information technology diffusion
Open this folder and view contentsNational information technology policy portfolios
Open this folder and view contentsInformation technology diffusion programs
Open this folder and view contentsDesign rules of-thumb for policymakers
Open this folder and view contentsImplications for developing countries
View the documentReferences
Open this folder and view contentsAppendix 1 - Country descriptions
Open this folder and view contentsAppendix 2 - Program descriptions
View the documentDistributors of world bank publications


The authors are indebted to a large number of government officials, researchers, and consultants who design, implement, and evaluate information technology policies and programs in the OECD countries in this study (list below). They generously shared their insights and experiences in an evolving field where tacit knowledge is indispensable.

The authors also would like to acknowledge the contributions of Shakuntala Gunaratne to the literature review. The study also benefitted from the comments of many colleagues: Elkyn Chaparro, Richard Stern, Carl Dahlman, Govindan Nair, James Cowie, Darius Mans, Khalid Siraj, Melvin Goldman, Robert Schware (World Bank); Kurt Hoffman, Ralph Kaplinsky (Sussex University); Hans-Peter Brunner (WZB); Sandor Boyson (University of Maryland); and John Dryden (OECD). Bennett Minton, with the American Writing Corporation, edited the manuscript. Alloysius Ocheni provided valuable secretarial support.

Akira Watanabe, NGL Consultants, Canada
Alistair Allcock, British Embassy, USA
Anders Loderwijks, Min. of Economic
Affairs, Netherlands
Andre Dubois, ISTC, Canada
Andre E C de Meulder, Min. of Economic
Affairs, Netherlands
Andreas Goerdeler, Min. of Economic
Affairs, Netherlands
Arie Rip, Univ. of Twente, Netherlands
Barry Murphy, IDA, Ireland
Bjorn Nasvall, Nutek, Sweden
Brendan J. Murphy, Cork RTC, Ireland
Callum Johnston, DTI, UK
Charles Brownstein, NSF, USA
Christian D. Ulhorn, BMFT, Germany
Daryl Chubin, OTA, USA
Dave Ashcroft, Fujitsu, USA
David Astles, NRC, Canada
David Roessner, Georgia Institute of
Technology, USA
Dieter Kimbel, OECD, France
Don Rolt, British Embassy, USA
Doug Colley, NRC, Canada
Dr. Bertuleit, BMFT, Germany
Dr. Lorenzen, BMFT, Germany
Dr. Mense, BMFT, Germany
Ed Acheson, Treasury Board, Canada
Edward Lehmann, NTIS, USA
Eiji Hayashi, NEC, Japan
Ezra A. Miller, ISTC, Canada
Fred Weingarten, CRA, USA
Freddy Jevons, Univ. of Perth. Australia
Genya Chiba, JRDC. Japan
George Gear, Federation of Irish Industry, Ireland
Georges FernOECD, France
Gerd Rache, BMFT, Germany
Gerry Murphy, Dept. of Enterprise and Employment, Ireland
Graham Vickery. OECD. France
Gunter Lay, Fraunhofer-lSI. Germany
Ian Hochbert, MSC, Canada
Irwin Feller, Penn State Univ.. USA
Jainick Moyer, ITAC, Canada
Jan Huijbregts, Min. of Economic Affairs, Netherlands
Jeremy Oppenheim, World Bank, USA
Jim McCullough. NSF, USA
Joachim Hafkesbrink. IBI. Germany
Joanne Kennedy, Communications Canada, Canada
Joe Leblanc, Communications Canada, Canada
John D. Holmfeld, House of Representatives, USA
John D. Warner. IBM. Canada
John Deacon, ISTC, Canada
John Hagedoorn. MERIT. Netherlands
John O'Flaherry, MAC, Ireland
John Riddle, Treasury Board, Canada
John S. Wilson, NAS, USA
John Walsh, Dept. of Industry and Commerce, Canada
John Woodbridge, CIDA. Canada
Joseph Schmidt, Joseph Schmidt and
Associates, Canada
Kazahiko Nishi, ASCII. Japan
Ken Flamm, Brookings Institute. USA
Ken Lees, ICCL Enterprises. Canada
Linda Garcia, OTA, USA
Lorna Windmill, DTI, UK
Luc Soete, MERIT, Netherlands
Lucille Slack, AT&T, Canada
Mario Schneider, VDI/VDE, Germany
Marjory Blumenthal, NRC-NAS, USA
Martin Mudde, ISTC, Canada
Masako Noue, British Embassy, Japan
Masako Aatanabe, British Embassy, Japan
Masatoshi Matsuda, NISTEP, Japan
Michael Carrier, EuroCentres, USA
Michael B O'Ceallaigh, Local Government
Computer Services Board, Ireland
Mr. Saeki, MITI, Japan
Mr. van Renderghem, Min. of Economic Affairs, Netherlands
Norine Heselton, Stentor, Canada
Oliver Dunne
Paul McConnel, IDRC, Canada
Phil Zeller, EDS, Canada
Richard Hinder, British Embassy, Japan
Robert Cochran, Dublin City University, Ireland
Robert Crow, ITAC, Canada
Robert Valantin, IDRC, Canada
Roberta J. Fox, Hewlett, Packard, Canada
Roland Tibbets, SBIR, USA
Ron Egginton, British Embassy, Washington
Ruurd van Moock, Min. of Economic Affairs, Netherlands
Shahid Akhtar, IDRC, Canada
Stefan Kuhlmann, Fraunhofer-lSI, Germany
Sue Alexander, SPRU, UK
Sung-Joon Roh, NISTEP, Japan
Susan Walters, Packfic Bell, USA
Terras A. G. Gavin, IDRC, Canada
Tim Feinstein, NTIS, USA
Tim Ray, NISTEP, Japan
Tomes Martin, KFK, Germany
Tony Colven, ISTC, Canada
Tony Killeen, Dept. of Enterprise and
Employment, Ireland
Toru Maegawa, MITI, Japan
Toshio Kaneko, JIPDEC, Japan
Tsutomo Senda, NEC, Japan
Victor L. F. Boersma, NIT, Canada
W.H. Schaap, Min. of Economic Affairs, Netherlands
W. kesseler, Min. of Economic Affairs, Netherlands
Waka Miura, British Embassy, Japan
Walter Zegveld, NOTA. Netherlands
Werner Salz, BMFT. Germany
William J. Benschop, Dept. of Transport and Communications. Netherlands
Yoko Nakagawa, EDS, Japan
Yoshiki Mikami. MITI, Japan
Yoshiko Kurisaki, OECD, France
Zavis P. Zeman, ZZ International, Canada
Zhongliang Zhang, NISTEP. Japan